Half a century closing in

In two weeks, it’s my 50th birthday.  Once again, I’m asking myself how that happened?!? The obvious answer is by living this long.  The not so obvious – by loving, surviving, living, creating, moving on, enjoying, expressing, dealing…..

Will there be some joyous world wide event celebrating this milestone in my life?  Uh… NO.  99.9% of the world’s population will be blissfully unaware, and that’s a good thing!

So, what AM I doing for this event?  I have absolutely no idea.  My son and his fiance are driving down from Seattle, so undoubtedly will spend some time with them.  I’m looking forward to that!!!  It’s been over a year since I’ve seen ‘my baby boy’ and that is far too long.  Other than that, no real plans outside of a quiet party with a couple of friends the day before. Yes, I am secretly hoping that WRT has something up his sleeve but as we did a ‘pre-birthday’ Las Vegas trip in May….. well, let’s just leave that alone.

I’ve been doing some experimental knitting the last few days.  There’s some delicious yarn in my stash that has been patiently waiting to be turned into something lovely.  There are two skeins of self striping, fingering weight that was originally purchased for socks but after a few trial starts, I’m realizing they don’t want to be socks.  I think they want to be a shawl or stole but it’s going to take a bit more experimentation to know for sure.

Savannah’s blanket and premie hat are finished and gifted:
savannahsShe arrived three weeks early, so I wasn’t quite finished oops!  The plan is to make a coordinating sweater but it’s been well over 90F for weeks on end so think I’ll hold off until it’s a bit cooler and she’s actually going to need one.

There’s another green blankie in the works for WRT’s grandaughter’s little brother who is nearly a year old now.  And getting going on Christmas knitting as well but as those projects are still in planning stages, we’ll avoid commenting (read, I know that I’ll change my mind so… just wait to see!)

Oh – and for the big news!  I finally got my drivers license renewed.  Yeah, I know it’s not a major deal to most but it’s been complicated trying to get to the DMV.  The old car wasn’t reliable and since it was stolen have been without any transportation (buses around here are great if you’re going downtown but trying to get from here to locations west of home takes hours even if it’s only a few miles) so… WRT took the day off yesterday to get me to the DMV so I could take the written test and get the temp license.  The ‘real’ one gets mailed out in 2-3 weeks.  Still don’t have a car to drive, but I  have insurance as a named driver rather than on a specific vehicle and a license to go with it!  Yay!

About HollysDying

Hard core rocker/old school punk/alternative, ridiculously fiber/design oriented knitter with strong geek tendencies type person. Worked in the travel and web design industries, and benefits management for years; have done freelance writing and editing. Mother of two fantastic young adults (yes, they truly are!).
This entry was posted in Life and it's Stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

