I Did it! I think… yeah, I did!

My new job starts Oct 26th back in travel again. I do have a couple more interviews for other possibilities but even if I accept one (or both) – uh, if they’re offered – I’ll still be keeping the corporate travel job.  It’s work at home again and that seems to work out well for me.

So… what do I do for a month?  wow, uhm…  the list is nearly endless:

  • Finish up Christmas/Yule/Hanukkah gifts
  • Work out every day
  • Pinterest and Houzz – keep the creative freedom going
  • Find an inspiration point for each day … list keeps going but won’t bore you further with that part

I’ve been doing rather well on all three so far.  The second couch has been donated to the ‘grandkids’ new home so the front room is now re-arranged.  FINALLY!  I’ve got the treadmill out now and have been using it regularly as well as some Pilates and little bit of yoga.  Not going hog wild, the current flare had my feet so swollen that shoes were not on the wearables list for a few days there but things are shaping up quickly.

Although the goal ‘should’ be loose 30 lbs, it’s not.  The goal is do something every day.  I like that.  I can do that.  I AM doing that.

As for the Amsterdam poster from the last posting, I’ve got it a bit more acceptable but the room definitely isn’t finished yet:

Why yes, I am aware that I have a dresser in the front room.  I like it that way.  so there!  No really, the plan is to strip it down and re-finish.  It’s been around as long as I can remember and is good solid wood but definitely shows the age and number of moves that it’s gone through.  I’d eventually like to turn it into a combo plant stand/shelving area plus dresser with a stair-step approach and plywood cut to fit over the top of each drawer.

 

This morning a dear friend stopped by on his way out of town for six months to say ‘hi and goodbye.’  We haven’t been in touch much lately but always seem to pick right back up.  He’s starting a six month gig as occupational therapist up in Washington and I’m excited for him and his new beginning.  He’s also a masseuse and was kind enough to work on my shoulder/neck area for a bit before he had to hit the road. A regular massage really should be part of my routine as I carry stress in my shoulders and neck leading to some pretty outrageous headaches but sadly, isn’t.  Thanks, Lon!  You sooo rock.

As part of this whole lay-off thing I’ve been searching ways to cut costs while keeping my sanity.  No more Hulu Plus for a while, may just let the car die as the insurance and registration are due soon and if I had any respect for elderly vehicles, I would have let it die with dignity a while ago, there are other odds and ends of saving and scrimping a bit. I find it amusing and annoying that some people think a person can actually live on unemployment and rather stay on it than work.  It’s been close to a month now since any money came in (should have a partial unemployment check this coming week, first one!) and I can hardly wait to get back to earning a steady paycheck again.  And afford insurance, take care of responsibilities, all those good things.

Anyway… one of the cool things that I came across on How Does She… blog is a sock bouquet.  Not exactly the most romantic of gifts but spices it up a bit and as I regularly knit socks and many of you do too, I thought I’d share:

Image

Keep in mind that there is NO chance that I’ll EVER gift that many pairs of hand knit socks at once, however I’m thinking that a pair of hand knit then a few pairs of ‘regular’ socks thrown in to showcase the extreme coolness of the hand knit pair might work rather well.

About HollysDying

Hard core rocker/old school punk/alternative, ridiculously fiber/design oriented knitter with strong geek tendencies type person. Worked in the travel and web design industries, and benefits management for years; have done freelance writing and editing. Mother of two fantastic young adults (yes, they truly are!).
This entry was posted in job search, knit, knit socks and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

