wow what a time it’s been

Monday afternoon, after waiting a month and a bit, headquarters named me as the new office manager.  It’s a huge responsibility and a lot of hard work getting things taken care of as we were without a manager for nearly four months and I’m excited for the growth.  Most of today (yes, Superbowl Sunday) has been spent taking care of extremely urgent situations but it’s better to have far too much to do than nothing at all.  I’m grateful to have this job, only two years ago I was unemployed – still getting things back on track after the ‘derailment’ that caused.  Now, I totally understand why they put me on salary rather than hourly *grin* they’d go broke in a hurry if they had to pay managers over-time.

Costa Rica with WRT was phenomenal!  Beautiful scenery, warm ocean breezes, time with WRT and his colleagues… fantastic!  Again, I’m grateful for the opportunity, it was amazing!  As a travel professional, I was more impressed with how well everything was organized, what careful attention was put into each detail and how they pulled off the unexpected with grace than I was with some of the more ‘normal’ things everyone else was ooooing and ahhhhing over.  They probably thought I was a bit strange and that’s ok!

cooking class in Tamarindo

one of numerous crocodiles

view from room at the JW Marriott Resort Guanacasta

I finished a pair of socks whilst looking at that gorgeous beach!

People keep asking me what our next fabulous trip will be since I’m in the travel industry. uhhh, his next company incentive trip perhaps 😀  Generally, there are very few benefits associated with being in the industry anymore.  I remember the days when one could just pay $50 or so and get on a flight.  Now it’s cheaper to buy an advance purchase fare than pay the agent discount fare but that’s ok.  I love what do or I wouldn’t have spent so much of my life doing it.

About redfear

Hard core rocker/old school punk/alternative, ridiculously fiber/design oriented knitter with strong geek tendencies type person. Worked in the travel and web design industries, and benefits management for years. Back in corporate travel and loving it! Mother of two fantastic young adults (yes, they truly are!).
This entry was posted in about RedFear, knit and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

