Waiting and working

The unpacking process is on-going but I slowed way down this past week.  There area few pictures hung, I’ve put a cover on the sofa and had company to dinner last night.  There’s a lot of stress at work just now with a bit of a war between the upper management and I spend a great deal of time squarely in the middle…. but it’s okay.  Still a lot less stress and drama than the last job.  And I actually enjoy most of my role.  For now, my major goal is to keep things within the office as positive and forward-moving as possible.

WRTs silky socks are progressing well – I’ve finished the heel and am on the leg portion.  Have I mentioned how much I enjoy Wendy Johnson’s toe-up socks with a difference?  Once or ten times?  Let’s add another one to that!  It’s a fairly simple pattern, easy to adjust, and looks good in many variations.  The gusset at the bottom of the foot makes it far easier to customize IMHO.  The only thing is…. his socks are a bit on the boring side.  Plain.  He likes plain socks.  I like pretty, quircky, fun, unusual, beautiful, diverse.  Of course, he would look a bit silly with lace and bobbles so… plain it is.  But black?!? Constant black? oh well.  It’s an exercise in care, that’s a given.  Black stockinette row after row with increases and decreases can be a bit difficult to see.  You know what?  I like it!  Usually.

In other news… still no check from Bank of America from their Cash for Keys offer.  We have a signed contract, yet they have dragged their feet for more than four weeks now.  It seems they sent the check a while ago and are trying to determine if it was cashed.  Uhm… they’re the bank.  How long could it possibly take for a bank to determine if a check they issued was cashed?  Five seconds? Ten?  The fact of the matter is, Will didn’t receive it and of course, I didn’t either.  Do we get the courts involved over $2000?  Not quite sure yet.  But if it’s not here by next week, legal action will be the only recourse.  Of course, they’ll tie it up as long as possible if we do that.  And, in further ‘financial bad news’ no refund from the amended return yet.  It’s been at least eight weeks on that but it’s nearly impossible for me to be on hold the 45 minutes to an hour when the IRS is open.  Oh well….

Things aren’t that bad, I just need to be able to accomplish a few things that take money.  I hadn’t really planned on paying for the entire move myself since I had the cash for keys contract and expected tax refund.  *shrug and frown*

About HollysDying

Hard core rocker/old school punk/alternative, ridiculously fiber/design oriented knitter with strong geek tendencies type person. Worked in the travel and web design industries, and benefits management for years; have done freelance writing and editing. Mother of two fantastic young adults (yes, they truly are!).
This entry was posted in knit, knit socks, Life and it's Stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

