Day off for Knitting

About three weeks ago my friend, Keri, and I went to The Dancing Crane (great little store) in Salt Lake.  I picked up a few candles and an odd/end or two and thoroughly enjoyed spending non-work time with her.  We talked about going to dinner after but decided we’d do it in a day or two as we both needed to catch up on a few things.  The next morning she called to let me know her fiance had passed away very suddenly.

It’s been a very difficult thing watching her go through that heartbreak.  It’s not really my story to tell so I’ll leave the details out but she is quite despondent and I’m rather worried about her.  I did finish her socks though – not much, but hopefully it will let her know that there are plenty of people who love and care about her in a very real way.They are fairly simple, toe-up socks with about three inches ribbing at the top.  The colorway is so busy that I felt an all over pattern would be too much.

What am I doing home today, you ask?  I’m not sick so obviously something is up… yep!  Just needed a day off.

The project has taken on a life of it’s own the last few weeks and it seems full of negativity.  Along with Keri’s fiance dying, two more friends were suspended (more or less fired, really though no one really knows the details) and we have several other situations going on.  Although I wasn’t made supervisor, I have a lot of other responsibilities and overall I enjoy them yet it gets a bit overwhelming sometimes.  We have a plethora of new-hires right now and very few of them have caught on yet.  Then, there is the eternal smoothing of the feathers that I seem to have been elected to handle etc.  I have been extremely impressed with how a few individuals have stepped up and really made that extra effort promoting team work and doing their best to lighten the mood.

With the continued wide-spread weather delays and flight cancellations we have been unusually busy.  I’m grateful that some have elected to move forward positively.  It hasn’t been an easy thing to do.  Although I’m not technically a supervisor, I do take ‘supe’ calls as needed and there were more in the last week than in the last three months combined.  Why?  good question!  Again, it seems to be a combination of extreme frustration on the travelers’ part (again… delays, cancellations right and left) and a lack of education on both the traveler and travel counselor parts.  We’re working on that.

Did you know that the ‘average’ airfare comes with 30-55 pages of rules.   The typical trip with four segments (let’s say a round trip with a connection in each direction) can have as many as 145 pages of rules as there are usually multiple fares involved.  Yes, pages.  Is it possible for me to tell you every rule that goes with your specific fare? no way.  I will give you the basics though.  Another issue that is becoming common lately is due to the airline buy-outs.  Whichever airline ‘owns’ your ticket is the one any changes must be flown on – generally.  So… you could have a ticket with a Continental flight, a US Airways flight, and two United Airlines flights.  If it was ticketed on United and you make a change – chances are that you are going to have to use United for those changes even though those airlines have ticketing agreements.

Enough of that.  It’s rather complex and the whole reason for mentioning it is to give an idea how complicated air travel really is.

After I finished Keri’s socks, I cast on a pair for me:they are ‘berry ice cream cone soft wave’ socks based on Soft Waves from Toe-Up 2-at-a-Time by Melissa Morgan-Oakes.  There are several other things that I’m working on – Marci’s socks, a summer sweater, and dying to start a new wrap.  But… I felt a rather compelling need to cast these on so I did! go me!

I’m knitting the feet in plain stockinette as lace on my feet tends to annoy me no end.

About redfear

Hard core rocker/old school punk/alternative, ridiculously fiber/design oriented knitter with strong geek tendencies type person. Worked in the travel and web design industries, and benefits management for years. Back in corporate travel and loving it! Mother of two fantastic young adults (yes, they truly are!).
This entry was posted in knit, knit socks, Life and it's Stuff and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

