Still winter!

It is indeed, still snowing… and snowing…and snowing.  blah.

What’s been going on in my little corner of the universe? Let’s see…   one of my closest work friends was ‘suspended’ this week along with another good agent.  What is management thinking?  Seems that rule by fear and intimidation is the theme here.  Although mistakes were made by both, none of the mistakes were horrifically serious.  It’s seems to be more of a punishment for not being perfect as well as a threat to the rest of us.  Rumors are running rampant and it’s a bit grim at the moment.  My promotion has been put on the back burner indefinitely as has others’ and no one is feeling very safe.  It’s unfortunate.  We have a lot of good agents and overall, people are doing their best to keep things moving forward.  We’ll see how things play out.

What is my role now?  I’ve decided that it’s to keep things as positive as possible.  There’s enough negativity, it doesn’t need to be amplified.  Frustrating?  yes.  Sometimes even nerve wracking.  But I have control over what I say and do so… making every effort to keep things moving forward.  Should it all end and we all lose our jobs at least I will know that I did all that I could do.  er … without seeming self righteous or self promoting.  I’m reminded of my imperfections often enough to stay pretty humble.

I’ve been trying to get Keri’s socks finished up this weekend and am nearly there.  Marci’s socks are about 75% finished as well.  Next on the list are a pair for Dad and one for Mom then one for me.  Since I voluntarily moved my shift to close last week and this coming week to assist with the new-hires it’s cut into my knitting time.  Silly me!  hehe

About HollysDying

Hard core rocker/old school punk/alternative, ridiculously fiber/design oriented knitter with strong geek tendencies type person. Worked in the travel and web design industries, and benefits management for years; have done freelance writing and editing. Mother of two fantastic young adults (yes, they truly are!).
This entry was posted in knit. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

