What a week!

How wonderful to have Marci visit from Seattle for a week!!!!  I wish we had been able to spend more time together but balancing my work schedule and her visiting friends schedule … still, I’m grateful for the time that we did have!!!  I’m so happy to be her mother and grateful for the lovely young woman she has turned into.  She’s constantly learning new things and exploring her world.  It’s fantastic!  She and Dylan are enjoying their new place and really like the area they moved to.  I’m thrilled for them!

We did have a nice visit with my parents and sister Sarah too:

Marci and I in front of Mom’s fireplace.  Assorted grand and great-grand parents in photos behind us.

Mom, Marci, Dad, me, David in Mom’s front room.  My great grandfather Amussen crafted the wall-clock behind us.

All too soon it was Monday and she flew back to her own home.  When I was younger, I never understood how ‘old people’ could say time flies and all that nonsense.  Now that I have a few years behind me, time is completely relative and speeds up remarkably at times.  How on earth did my little girl have time to turn into this lovely woman?  And my baby turn into such a great young man?  It’s surreal!

On the work front, I’ve been acting supervisor this week.  It’s been a challenge but manageable and I’m actually enjoying it.  There is a constant tight rope walk act between the client’s needs and our employers’.  There are several things that would ease some of the tension but not a great deal of actual implementation going on.  We’ll see how it all plays out.

So far as knitting goes…. I’ve finished one of Kerri’s rainbow socks and need to cast on the second one this weekend.  Not a lot of knitting time while Marci was here and this week has consisted of lots of overtime plus switching between working 9-5 and 6-2:30 which actually turns into 9-6:15 or so and 6-4ish.  Last night I felt like I’d just gotten home when I had to turn around and go back!  It’s not too bad but I’m glad I don’t switch between schedules all the time.

About HollysDying

Hard core rocker/old school punk/alternative, ridiculously fiber/design oriented knitter with strong geek tendencies type person. Worked in the travel and web design industries, and benefits management for years; have done freelance writing and editing. Mother of two fantastic young adults (yes, they truly are!).
This entry was posted in about RedFear, family, knit. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

