Another finished object! and in defense of Valentine’s Day

This morning I finished the first sewing project in over three years!  This is so cool!!!  Obviously, it’s a present so no additional info until tomorrow.  Have to admit, I was a little frustrated with the pattern instructions.  Most of it was fine, but some of the directions really weren’t written well and advised techniques that were (imho) substandard.  So… after tweaking a bit and stretching a bit, it’s done.

Marci (my 20 year old living in the Seattle area) has her dad for a whole week – I’m so jealous!  He flew up this morning and will be back next Sunday.  I miss her so very much but am thrilled that she’s doing well and seems happy.  Sewing always reminds me of her since I spent so much time creating outfits for her.  In absolutely NO way whatsoever am I encouraging her to have children yet, but I did find a couple patterns on ebay of dresses that I made for her years ago.  Someday, I’ll be excited to sew for her daughter(s?) and perhaps son(s?).  I didn’t sew as much for David, but he did get blankets and jackets.  I remember the most difficult and annoying project EVER was Marci’s Pink Power Ranger Halloween costume back in the mid ’90s.  It had all sorts of fitted parts that really should have been appliques rather than sewn together as part of the overall costume.  She sure did look cute in it though.

****** and yes… tomorrow is Valentine’s Day… again….  A lot of people complain that it’s just another made up holiday that creates unrealistic expectations and pressures.  True, it can.  Then again, I’m glad that there is a time set aside to celebrate our most important relationships.  It’s far too easy to take the good for granted, to see the annoyances far more focused than necessary and to forget those lovely things that are wonderful and worth nurturing.  Do we need a day set aside for this?  Why not!

I’ll openly admit to being a bit of a romantic.  I like the flowers, candles, holding hands in public, the little things that show caring and affection.  Are those things are important as traits like loyalty, respect, mutual admiration, good humor, etc?  No.  But they’re nice, they’re fun, and they keep things interesting.  Just a thought.

 

About redfear

Hard core rocker/old school punk/alternative, ridiculously fiber/design oriented knitter with strong geek tendencies type person. Worked in the travel and web design industries, and benefits management for years. Back in corporate travel and loving it! Mother of two fantastic young adults (yes, they truly are!).
This entry was posted in Life and it's Stuff, sewing. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Another finished object! and in defense of Valentine’s Day

  1. Marylada says:

    Which came first, the problem or the sotluion? Luckily it doesn’t matter.

  2. Skeleton says:

    It is a great pleasure for me to visit your website and to enjoy your exclusive posts here. I like that so much. I think that you paid much attention for those articles, as all of them make sense and are very useful. Thank you for sharing. I can be very good reader & listener. Appreciate your work!

Leave a Reply

