Winter… again

This year, fall eluded us for the most part.  Winter started two weeks ago with a blizzard warning and wind gusts over 40mph.  Fortunately, little snow fell that time but the wind and ice damage was extensive.  A few days later we had the snow.  The falling wet sogginess engulfed all and left behind broken trees, holes in sheds and garages, downed power lines and generally miserable cold and ice underneath it all.    I was fortunate enough to have been at WRT’s when it started and ended staying for two days rather than the hour or so anticipated.

His black socks are finished and Mom’s Christmas dishcloths are started as requested.  I’m knitting several using a few different yarns.  I’d like to have her feedback on what works for her as she specifically doesn’t want them to be too thick.  Unfortunately, I’m not sure just what a ‘too thick’ dishcloth is so… I’ve knit up two in a soft cotton boucle, one in silky cotton/nylon and working on the second of that pair then will do a couple out of an acrylic, bulkier yarn.  Once she decides which works best, I’ll make a set of that kind.  For Christmas, she gets a mix.  No, no pics.  She doesn’t read my blog (rarely goes online) but every now and again WRT does.  Of course, he’s aware he’s getting the black socks – it’s kind of point of humor (not a joke really, just kind of one of those things we chuckle over) and has seen them in process.

This afternoon he bought me yet another rear tire.  Apparently, he didn’t think that the threads showing through was a good thing for the 42 mile -each way – freeway commute to work on wet and sometimes icy roads.  hmmm… who woulda thought?!  Seriously, I’m grateful that he did.  I’m grateful for him and all he does in his exceptionally quiet, unassuming way.  I’ll pay him back on payday.  But that’s not the point.  It’s such a blessing to have someone who watches out for me and the little things that are so vital.

—-

In other thoughts…  the blah social attitude continues.  There’s nothing wrong, just busy and conserving emotional energy.   Why you ask?  I’ll go into it later.  However, this afternoon Roxy and her three little darlings went to lunch with me.  It was wonderful to laugh, talk, catch up and spend some time together.  Unfortunately, Tiana couldn’t make it.  She’s going through some personal things right now and my thoughts and prayers are with her.  Another dear friend is going through yet another serious family illness.  She’s had several major losses this year and my heart aches for the pain she’s going through with this one.  It’s not my story to tell so… I won’t.  But TJ, I love you, girl!

 

 

About redfear

Hard core rocker/old school punk/alternative, ridiculously fiber/design oriented knitter with strong geek tendencies type person. Worked in the travel and web design industries, and benefits management for years. Back in corporate travel and loving it! Mother of two fantastic young adults (yes, they truly are!).
This entry was posted in about RedFear, knit, knit socks. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

