Thanks again

We were unexpectedly given Thanksgiving and the day after off (without pay) so I was able to go to dinner at my sister, Lucilla’s, with the family after all.  It was actually quite lovely!  Mom, Dad, my sister, Sarah, and her two girls, Lucilla and Ryan with their children along with my son, David, and his dad, Will, were all there.  Sarah and Lucilla have turned into quite the chef’s.  Considering I taught Sarah how to make soup out of a can when she was 18…. not bad!!!  Impressive, even!!!

WRT is in Las Vegas – his now annual tradition, it seems.  I’m glad he’s getting some alone time in but feel a wee bit left out.  Oh well.

Did I participate in Black Friday shopping?  NO chance.  I’ll be avoiding stores for the next five weeks unless there is a true need to get something.  ugh.  I did grocery shop though.  It seems that the day after Thanksgiving the grocery stores are nearly empty.  This is great!

I did do a lot of web window-shopping though.  a lot.  Didn’t buy much though, trying to stick with the budgeted plan and all that stuff.  I also fought with myself over dental insurance plans since the one offered at work covers virtually nothing.  Actually, it’s a dental discount plan rather than insurance and the health plan is even worse.  For once, I’ll keep my thoughts on it all to myself though hehe.  At least until I figure out a reasonable alternative.

In knitting news, I started a pair of gloves and frogged them.  Twice.  Just not feeling it.  However, I also frogged and re-started WRTs black socks this evening.  There is about 2″ done on each, not bad.  Now to get them finished up in the next week to week and a half so other projects can get finished up.  I’m enjoying the process, the connectivity with countless knitters past and present as well as creating something that has never been created before.  Sure, thousands of socks have been handknit, perhaps even millions… but this is the only time this particular pair will be created.  I kind of like that!

 

About HollysDying

Hard core rocker/old school punk/alternative, ridiculously fiber/design oriented knitter with strong geek tendencies type person. Worked in the travel and web design industries, and benefits management for years; have done freelance writing and editing. Mother of two fantastic young adults (yes, they truly are!).
This entry was posted in family, knit, knit socks. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

