Walk in the Park

They’re finished!  and I actually like them.  Like them a lot!  I had originally envisioned standard length (whatever that really is) socks but as the heel got turned they started feeling more like they wanted to be anklets so…. that’s what they are.  Rather than continue the eyelet lace up to the top, I did 3 rows of purl then a 6 row 1×1 rib with bobbles, one more row of purls then 2 more rows of 1×1 rib.   They were fun!  and there’s a fair bit of yarn left so may make some mittens for WRTs grand daughters. 

I really like Wendy Johnson’s Toe Socks with a Gusset Heel pattern.  The heel construction fits better than average and is EASY to do.  The only thing that I’m a bit concerned about is the lack of heel support.  That is, the back of the heel is worked in whatever pattern you’ve got going whether plain stockinette, lace, or whatever.  This is a lot thinner than most heels.  So long as the socks aren’t warn constantly that shouldn’t be too much of an issue though.  I suppose one could easily modify it to include a more traditional/thick heel or add nylon fiber or whatever method one chose to prolong the wear if one wanted to.

I’ve decided to just suck it up and frog the Road Scarf even though it’s nearly 4 feet long now.  It just is too stiff.  By too stiff, I don’t mean that it’s a bit stiff.  I mean that it barely even bends now.  I know that I tend to be a tight knitter and have learned how to overcome that but really?!?  The combination of tight knitting and sz 6 needles on a fairly non-soft worsted weight is proving to be … well, it’s YUCKY!  I wouldn’t want that thing around my neck promising cozy warmth and delivering a rope like feel.  So, doubting that the recipient would want that either.  Guess I’ll just get going with that.

In non-knit news… Zeus The Cat is in the animal hospital just now.  He got in another fight with the  invading bully cat down the street which produced an infected lump on his face.  I’d mentioned to his ‘real’ owner (exhusband/landlord) that he really should have antibiotics, it didn’t look good.  After receiving the standard ‘it doesn’t look that bad’ response I resolved to keep a more watchful eye on Zeus.  Yesterday afternoon his poor little face looked like he was an extra in a zombie movie.  It was truly disgusting and looked extremely painful.  I called said rightful owner to come look at the cat and he was promptly taken to the vet who decided draining, antibiotics, and an overnight stay was the proper course of action.  I hope he recovers and does so quickly.  He really is not my cat.  He’s my son, daughter, and their father’s cat.  Oh wait, I feed, water, let in, let out, let in, let out… does that make him mine?  uh oh.

About redfear

Hard core rocker/old school punk/alternative, ridiculously fiber/design oriented knitter with strong geek tendencies type person. Worked in the travel and web design industries, and benefits management for years. Back in corporate travel and loving it! Mother of two fantastic young adults (yes, they truly are!).
This entry was posted in knit, knit socks, Knitting, Life and it's Stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Walk in the Park

  1. uncoolhelen says:

    Sorry to hear about not-your-cat, I hope he makes a quick recovery.
    Your socks are gorgeous 🙂
    Hx

Leave a Reply

