Momentum

It finally feels like fall today!  There was condensation on my windshield this morning, the kittens next door were playing in our drying sunflower stalks, the temperature is still below 60 at nine am, summer may actually end after all!

I’ve started some free online classes – psychology, anthropology, art history and Spanish.  I’m happy when I’m learning so… I’m learning! and it feels good.  Actually, ‘reviewing’ is a more accurate word.  These are all courses that I’m familiar with but it’s been a very long time so perhaps re-learning and building on past knowledge would be the most accurate of all.  After I get back to work, I’ll be getting in ‘real’ school but for now, this is perfect.  I’ve even scheduled time each day in Outlook so I can keep on a schedule and track progress.  I’m not a huge fan of rigid scheduling but have found that time management is a useful skill for staying marginally sane in the unemployed life.

There is a second interview coming up Monday that I’m excited about – back in Medicare D, I enjoy that field.  The offer in the travel position still stands but they’re having difficulty pinning down the actual start date.  We’ll see what the final outcome is.  Funny thing, I had two phone interviews this week – the Medicare D and another medical related company.

The other interview for this week just didn’t go well.  I’m not sure what it was but the interviewer and I just did NOT connect.  About two minutes into it I had the feeling that I was loosing him and realized that I’d lost interest a moment or two before so figured it was best to finish and gracefully move on.  Oddly… I received the ‘thanks but we have found a more suitable candidate’ email yesterday.  Although I’m a fan of that company, it’s not really the best fit financially, or temperamentally.  It probably didn’t help that I was visualizing him making all those ‘sales-man’ gestures while he was talking and I despise those.  You know – the forward thrusting of one’s hand to emphasize points, typically either with fingers extended and palms facing inward and the equally annoying ‘ok’ sign again forward thrusting hand but with the palm going either down or inward.  Also, he must have used my name seven or eight times during the ten minute phone call.  That truly annoys me.  I don’t need to be ‘connected with’ or ‘sold’ on anything.  ok… enough of that.

And in knitting news:

Walk in the Park socks are coming along quite well with one heel turn finished and the other scheduled for completion this afternoon then it’s up with the leg.  Seedy Trail scarf (the green blue in Berrocco Vintage) is wonderfully soft, squishy, comfy… and then there’s Road Scarf.  I hate it.  It’s not soft, it’s not comfy, it BENDS.  It doesn’t drape or nicely meander around.  It IS warm.  I’m deciding what to do with it.  Do I really want to continue or *dramatic, sad sigh* frog and find a more suitable yarn for the goal of warm, fuzzy yet ‘plain’ and masculine scarf.  Oh, and it MUST be machine washable.  If that weren’t an absolute requirement, I’d be doing a cashmere blend.

Generally, I enjoy working with Knit Picks yarns but Swish Worsted is most definitely not on my favorite list.

Oh… and for added interest… TNT is running a Supernatural marathon today.  Guilty pleasure?  absolutely!

About HollysDying

Hard core rocker/old school punk/alternative, ridiculously fiber/design oriented knitter with strong geek tendencies type person. Worked in the travel and web design industries, and benefits management for years; have done freelance writing and editing. Mother of two fantastic young adults (yes, they truly are!).
This entry was posted in job search, knit, knit socks, Knitting, Life and it's Stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

