Knitting Merrily Away and Getting Not Very Far

I’ve been wanting some cute little tank tops to wear over/under t-shirts so thought I’d try Pretty in Pink by Amanda Reed in some Knit Picks Shine Worsted from the old stash.

Pretty in Pink Tank

It’s a fairly basic ribbed tank, as you can see.  I’d worked about 10″ and thought it would be a good idea to try it on again.  Yeah, definitely a good idea.  The ribs were stretched out a bit more than I thought was attractive so I frogged.  ughhhhhhh  I’m not thrilled.  Started over… now it looks like this:

Pretty in Wisteria

Pretty in Wisteria

and I’m not sure that I like it.  That is, I like the pattern, I like the yarn.  I want a fun little tank or t (tank with sleeves added and have a really cool idea for those).  Just not feeling it right now though so…. will give it a few more minutes then decide whether to keep going or do something else.

The gorgeous Felici Sport in Picnic is wonderful but the socks were growing huge and with the pattern, I wasn’t entirely comfy with the math to make them a reasonable width.  So… those are on hold (well, waiting in the frog pond).  Instead, I’ve started Tipsy Triangle in Felici Fingering Marine:  Tipsy Triangle Socks The pattern is from Cast On May – July 2010.  I absolutely love Cast On.  The information is invaluable whether I want to make the featured projects or use the designer notes and technical tips in some other way.  The Knitting Guild Association totally rocks and I’m not really a ‘guildy/group’ type person.  Not anti-social, just don’t really do the group thing often.

Anyway, I was blog browsing and found myself nearly dumbfounded at some goings-on over at Annie Modesitt’s Modeknit.  Rather than rehash it here, go there!  Read!  (Ruffled Feather’s post)  just a quick word though, Annie totally rocks.  She has a sense of humor, deals with all the stuff life throws, AND is a talented knitter and designer.

What is Redfear watching while knitting these days?  Why Firefly, Torchwood and Dr. Who, of course!  I am absolutely loving it, too.  uh… hence the noncomplicated patterns at the moment.  I’m fulfilling two needs at once, more Sci-Fi and more knitting.  Yes, it’s true.  The inner-geekitude will always win out.   I’ve been trying to listen to audio books while knitting but for whatever reason the brain is not permitting that just now.  No problem, it will sometime again.

About redfear

Hard core rocker/old school punk/alternative, ridiculously fiber/design oriented knitter with strong geek tendencies type person. Worked in the travel and web design industries, and benefits management for years. Back in corporate travel and loving it! Mother of two fantastic young adults (yes, they truly are!).
This entry was posted in knit, knit socks, Knitting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Knitting Merrily Away and Getting Not Very Far

  1. redfear says:

    *sigh* decided the tank just wasn’t emerging from this yarn so went ahead and frogged yet again. But… did cast on for Jury Duty Beauty which I’ve been wanting to whip up for over a year.

    Think next time I’ll just make up a game board with pattern and yarn combos and whatever the dice rolls is what happens hehe.

  2. Sometimes, nothing hits the spot. I really like the Tipsy Triangle socks – those look like a lot of fun. Good luck figuring out where to go with the tank.

Leave a Reply

