Woodworker Socks Done, Done, Done

This has been the fastest, easiest pair of socks ever!  I’m pleasantly surprised to say the least!   The bind off is a tiny tiny bit on the tight side even though I did Jeny’s Surprisingly Stretchy Bindoff.  It’s not TOO tight though and I’m certainly glad I did such a stretchy bindoff or they would have ended up quite a bit tighter.

woodworker socks Woodworkers socks side view Woodworker 3

Overall, I really like sport weight Felici.  It is a bit splitty but so long as I was careful it wasn’t too much of a problem.  The stripes match up quite well after the first round of grey where I cut out the non-matching area.  All in all, a quick knit!

And will be casting on a pair of sockies for moi later today.  Yes, I’m still working on the Nanner Nanner’s and my top.  Go me!

While browsing ravelry last night, I came across Spillyjane’s pint mittens:

She’ll be coming out with the sock pattern shortly and I may just have to make a pair for WRT.  I haven’t quite decided whether to do this pattern or whether to create my own fair isle with steins.  The mitten pattern is perfect for TJ though, she may like them more with a blue background and perhaps fewer colored beers/lagers.  Definitely NOT making one for myself  since I’m no longer drinking in such things  tsk tsk

Oh, that reminds me… it seems that the neighbors’ dog is named Cuervo.  Either that or the neighbor dude enjoys standing out on his porch telling his alcohol to come back.  Interesting choice of names there.  Kinda cool though as you know there won’t be another Cuervo running around the neighborhood.

Friday evening we went to the little Taylorsville Days Fair/Carnival type thing and had a great time walking around, listening to music and people watching.  It feels so good to get out and around people sometimes!  This no job thing has nearly turned me into a hermit… not that being a hermit is always a bad thing.  “T” had a birthday party for both her little girls yesterday and it was LOVELY!  She had a luau theme with Tejano playing in the background as a nod to the family’s dual cultures.  It’s been about two months since I’ve been able to spend time with Tiana and Roxy.  Far, far too long!

Tiana and yet to be born son

Roxy

About redfear

Hard core rocker/old school punk/alternative, ridiculously fiber/design oriented knitter with strong geek tendencies type person. Worked in the travel and web design industries, and benefits management for years. Back in corporate travel and loving it! Mother of two fantastic young adults (yes, they truly are!).
This entry was posted in job search, knit socks, Life and it's Stuff and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Woodworker Socks Done, Done, Done

  1. redfear says:

    you’re so welcome! 😀 Can’t wait to get started on the mittens and hopefully the socks, too. Just HAVE to get some wip’s turned into fo’s hehe

  2. Katarina says:

    Thank you so much for the nice comment on my blog! 😀

    Love the Woodworker socks! And thanks for posting the link to the Pint Mittens, I’ve already added them to my queue…

  3. redfear says:

    thanks! I don’t do much colorwork either since I knit for the same reasons but every now and then it’s fun!

  4. TheWildSide says:

    Socks look awesome! Love that pint glass pattern – I’ve never tried fair isle as it seems quite complicated / potentially stressful and I like to knit for relaxation and meditation, but I may have to give it a go one of these days…

Leave a Reply

