Yarn Dying

Mom’s Claire has taken a back seat for a week or so now while Magic Loop and other new (to me) sock technique have been explored.  As I was absolutely unable to sleep last night I tried to do a few rows and just couldn’t seem to make myself do anything with it at all.  I like the pattern, I like the colors in the yarn.  That is, I like them individually.  I just don’t like them together which is why three hanks of KP’s Damsel Imagination has been sitting in my stash for well over a year now.  The color variations – at least in my hanks – are much more pronounced than in the Knit Picks pic.  The overall effect is quite dark with splotches of vivid pink.  It’s not a bad look, just not one that I am thrilled with for anything that I’ve tried using it for.

What does one do when colors don’t work?  Turn them into new colors, of course!  Using the food coloring method, I just dyed one of the hanks with blue (about 6 drops) and yellow (2, possibly 3 drops).  It’s hanging in the shower over the clothes drying rod right this very moment.  I’ll post pics in a day or two when it’s all dry.  We’ll see if it’s a keeper or a try again.  Why the blue AND yellow?  Am I trying to turn it green?  nope.  But blue should make the pinks, magenta, and lighter purple more purple and the little bit of yellow should do something to brighten it a bit without making anything orange or green.  Of course, this is in theory.  Can’t wait to see what happens when it’s dry.  There are a few spots that seem a bit on the blue/grey side but I’m guessing those were the lightest lavender parts.

On the job front…….  unemployment in Utah was up again.  It’s still a bit below the national average but up is up.  I applied for 93 jobs this week, that is, last Sunday morning through this morning.  There were only 3 that I’m not absolutely fully qualified for.  Several of them are re-postings of openings that have been there for several weeks.  I’m doubting those jobs are actually open at this point and think that the employers are most likely looking for additional candidates for anticipated future hiring.  There are simply too many qualified applicants for the positions not to be filled if the opening is currently available and NO one likes to interview more applicants than they have to.

My son had an interview this week with a local theater (cinema).  He felt that it went well and they were supposed to call to let him know what time to come start that afternoon.  No call.  I gave him the $ for dress pants and shoes – he looks good in them!  He seems to feel pretty down about not getting the job when they’d pretty much said he would.  Although he understands that only 20 jobs for over 200 interviewees (and who knows how many applications on top of those who were interviewed!) the odds are a bit steep and rejection isn’t easy.  For anyone.  Particularly a pretty mature and intelligent 16 year old who is going to college in the fall.   He  feels awful that I spent money we need in so many places right now on an interview outfit that didn’t pan out.  He needs dress clothes so … yes, we need it in any number of places but he and my daughter are the highest of priorities.  Things will get better, I just hope he can understand and internalize that.

About redfear

Hard core rocker/old school punk/alternative, ridiculously fiber/design oriented knitter with strong geek tendencies type person. Worked in the travel and web design industries, and benefits management for years. Back in corporate travel and loving it! Mother of two fantastic young adults (yes, they truly are!).
This entry was posted in job search, knit and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

