Fiber Therapy

Until 9:45 this morning, today was good.  About that time it turned into pure suckitude.  It seems that some mandatory personal scheduling is indeed going to conflict with the work schedule no matter how I try to arrange things so, I am again in the unemployed (after mere moments of employment!).

To add insult to injury, the gods of randomness decided that part of that mandatory stuff had to be done today.   There is only one place within 100 mile radius that it can be done on weekends.  I called, discussed, had to call back.  Called back, no answer.  Left voice mail.  Waited an hour.  Called back, no answer.  Left another voice mail.

By this time ‘down’ doesn’t quite cover the depth of horribleness.  So…. I decided to go for a drive up the canyon.  I started out, it’s hot but not too hot.  I drove.  I arrived at the mouth of the canyon and went to pay ($3.00 to drive on the road) and realized that I had no cash on me.  I turned around.  I would have gone south back home but was in the wrong lane and couldn’t move over so turned north.  I kept on driving and decided to get on the freeway.  Half a mile down the road the freeway narrowed to one lane.  Are you freaking KIDDING ME?!!!!

I got off the freeway.  The surface road also had all but one lane closed.  I nearly lost it.

Then it hit me.  The answer to everything!  I was only three blocks from my fave LYS (don’t go there often, but it’s definitely my favorite) so decided to head for Three Wishes Fiber .  There is ONLY one way to make such an awful day slightly less sucky.  Fiber.  Duh!  😀  I couldn’t spend much, and I really don’t ‘need’ anything right now but I bought two skeins of  snuggly, cooly, soft Lullaby Panda Cotton by Crystal Palace Yarns.  When I was about a block away from Three Wishes the person that I needed to hear from (previously mentioned voicemails) called back.  She was a real sweetie about the whole thing and arranged to meet me, get things taken care of and was just downright pleasant.

Who says new yarn doesn’t solve everything?

Well, except the job thing but that shall work out soon.  I know it will.  I’ll have cool new bamboo/cotton/elastic nylon socks.  How could someone not hire me with those! 😀

You’ll have to excuse me now, I have a sock pattern to decide on.  Any input????  pretty please?

Quite probably Rivulets by Wendy Johnson.  The way lacymaker worked them up on Ravelry is simply gorgeous (click rivulets to check out her work).

About HollysDying

Hard core rocker/old school punk/alternative, ridiculously fiber/design oriented knitter with strong geek tendencies type person. Worked in the travel and web design industries, and benefits management for years; have done freelance writing and editing. Mother of two fantastic young adults (yes, they truly are!).
This entry was posted in job search, knit, knit socks, Life and it's Stuff and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Fiber Therapy

  1. Jeanne says:

    Sorry to hear about the job thing – hopefully the next one you find will be more flexible.

    Enjoy the new yarn – Its very pretty!

  2. redfear says:

    thanks! If you’re ever in the Salt Lake City area be sure to stop in there and Kamille’s too. Three Wishes has the most knowledgeable, friendly owner ever and has pretty much everything a knitter, spinner, crocheter could possibly want.

  3. cpeezers says:

    I love the name of the shop “Three Wishes”. That’s great! Love the fiber you picked out as well! 🙂

Leave a Reply

