Sock weirdness on facebook and learning a new technique

A few months ago I was approached (virtually, on Facebook) by a man who wanted to know if I would knit him a sweater.  In return he would promote my knitting business.  I politely said that I don’t knit as a business and really don’t knit sweaters for anyone I’m not related to.  He was quite persistent so eventually, I told him that I’d knit a pair of socks for him when I had time.  Emphasis on when I had time.  Note, again with the when I had time and could work those in after finishing a slew of ongoing projects.  Very clear on that one… as in I’ll do it whenever I get around to it and not before.  There have been messages from him over the last several weeks indicating he wants them as soon as possible.  I have ignored some messages and responded with the very honest reply indicating I’m in the midst of several projects and would get them to him eventually but it would be a while yet.

Yesterday I received some rather nasty messages from him accusing me of lying to him and being cruel.  Yes, because the socks which were clearly in the ‘whenever I get to them’ category weren’t on his feet.   In fact, there were several messages from him with a fair bit of name calling.  I responded that I’d made it clear that I don’t knit for profit therefore he has nothing to promote for me, I had been up front about there not being any type of set time frame and didn’t understand where his attitude was coming from.  Another rude response.  I flat said that I don’t’ knit for anyone who is verbally abusive or tries emotional blackmail.  He still persisted in saying that I’d lied to him and on and on and on.

I had even given him the contact information for several local knitting guilds and meetings in his area to see if he could work something out with a more local – and perhaps more readily able – source of hand knitwear.  It seems he has tried some with no ‘takers’.  Imagine that!  Thank goodness for the ignore feature!

Speaking of socks…..

I’m to the gusset on His Navy.  The bottom of the foot gusset is pretty ingenious!!!  I’m liking this so far.  It took me a little bit to figure out that ‘continue in this manner’ means just that.  Duh!  I am adjusting the stitch count a little since these socks are wider than the standard in the pattern but so far, they look good!  I particularly like how neat they look compared to my pick up and knit on traditional top down gusset methods.   Sorry for the blurry pic, I’ll post better ones when it’s all done. We’ll see how the finished project turns out; so far I like this!  This pair is being worked up on 4 dpn’s but the next pair will be on 2 circs.  Go me… new stuff!

Anyone who knows me at all will notice the lack of long nails.  *sigh*  yes, it’s sad but far too true.  The current economic situation has caused another cut-back.

About HollysDying

Hard core rocker/old school punk/alternative, ridiculously fiber/design oriented knitter with strong geek tendencies type person. Worked in the travel and web design industries, and benefits management for years; have done freelance writing and editing. Mother of two fantastic young adults (yes, they truly are!).
This entry was posted in knit, knit socks, Knitting, Life and it's Stuff and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Sock weirdness on facebook and learning a new technique

  1. redfear says:

    it’s definitely on the weird side! It’s a bit like walking by someone’s garage, seeing wood working tools so knocking on the door and asking if they will make you a bookshelf using their wood and tools. Of course, you’ll spread it around what a great job they did in return. Who does that?!

    Anyway….. hopefully, that’s the end of it.

  2. cpeezers says:

    That is a strange strange story! I can’t imagine a stranger asking me to knit something out of the blue. That’s nutty huh!

  3. redfear says:

    Hopefully, he will. If not, I’m getting good at ignoring things/people that aren’t relevant to my life.

  4. Jeanne says:

    I can’t imagine knitting socks for a stranger like that – I hope he goes away and leaves you alone!

Leave a Reply

