Keeping Perspective

Mom loves her stole.  She is amazed that I can do lacework… not so much that I – as in me – am capable of it but that it’s so complex how is it done?  And she is going to show it off to the ‘Church Ladies’ that knit in meetings.  (Go ‘Church Ladies!’)  I’m thrilled she likes it and showed her the beginnings of her Breast Cancer Pink and Purple Claire.

Today started like most work days (at least as I remember from four months ago).  Rush to get in the car, traffic wasn’t too bad at 6am.  Arrived on time.  Went through first day of training without a hitch until the last break at 1:30.  Due to the nature of the job we aren’t allowed cell phones in our building so I checked for messages on break.  I hadn’t really planned on it; I’d spoken to my son two hours earlier and two hours before that and things seemed pretty normal but… had a feeling that I needed to walk out to the car and check.  I’m grateful that I did.  His dad answered his phone and informed me that my 16 year old son was in the Emergency Room and said since I’d be off work soon it should be okay to wait until 2:30 before leaving.  Are you kidding me?!?  I went inside, explained to the instructor that my son was 30 miles away in the ER and is it okay to leave 45 minutes early or I can stay if necessary.  She gave the universal ‘mom to mom’ look and said go… if I’m able to, come in a few minutes early tomorrow, if not to let her know.

I left.

He was released early this evening.  It may take a while and a fair bit of work but things will be okay.  My daughter wants to come home, I want her to come home.  I’m not quite sure that it’s the best option right at the moment.  We’ll see how things progress over the next few days.  There is much to accomplish.  He strongly prefers that I not invade his privacy by going into any type of detail and I respect that.  Still, it’s fairly devastating, overwhelming and downright scary.

Yet, no where near as bad as it could have been and there ARE things that can be done.

My parents came over later to check on things and took us to dinner.  My son was so great with Dad.  It’s sometimes nearly impossible to comprehend that Dad is as feeble now as he was once energetic.  He took Dad’s arm and led/assisted him to the car, into and through the restaurant.  He sat next to Dad and discreetly assisted with serving and anything else Dad needed then helped him back through the restaurant and out to the car.   It made me incredibly happy and nearly desolate at the same time.  We could have lost my son today and didn’t.  It’s likely that we will loose Dad in the foreseeable future but he is holding on.

All in all… things could have been worse.  I’m grateful they aren’t.  There is still much to do.

About HollysDying

Hard core rocker/old school punk/alternative, ridiculously fiber/design oriented knitter with strong geek tendencies type person. Worked in the travel and web design industries, and benefits management for years; have done freelance writing and editing. Mother of two fantastic young adults (yes, they truly are!).
This entry was posted in family, knit, Life and it's Stuff and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Keeping Perspective

  1. redfear says:

    Thank you, Jeanne. He is doing much better but we have a bit of a road ahead yet : ) He’s a strong young man though, he can do this. And I’m right there with him.

  2. Jeanne says:

    I’m so sorry to hear about your son – I hope all is well and that he recovers quickly!

Leave a Reply

