Straightened out Hiring Process and Socks Rock

We had a family farewell dinner for Marci last night.  It was good to have three of my sisters and assorted nieces there plus Mom and Dad.  My parents swore off chocolate YEARS ago but Mom recently discovered that Reeses’ Pieces don’t have any chocolate in them.  Go Mom!  I also learned that one of my sisters has actually seen my Dad *gasp* eating chocolate chip cookies on numerous occasions!  he’s 82, I doubt it will hurt him one tiny bit 🙂

Last night I had to do the extension for unemployment.  It’s been a LONG three months and at this moment, no end in sight.  However… the same company that sent me the anonymous rejection letter and then the ‘next step in hiring process’ letter sent another email this morning.  It seems that they feel I may be a better match for the sales department than the billing department.  Ok by me.  I just want a job.  And of course, one that is fulfilling, rewarding and ok… I just want a job at this point.  I had a major scare last night though while filing out the extension.  The message pop-up indicated that I would only get 1/2 of what I have been receiving on unemployment.  Talk about a panic moment!  It barely, barely covers the bills now, reducing it would put me out on the streets in a few days.  This morning I had to email workforce services since their site wasn’t working correctly so I could get the actual determination and… it remains the same.  Whewwww.  I figured it out and the total amount of unemployment paid out if I should have to go another 3 months before I get a job will be the equivalent of roughly 1/2 my taxes paid in 2003.  Just a bit of odd trivia.

Anyway…. made some progress on His Navy and Marci’s Nippers last night and I’m off to work on Mom’s Stole for a while.  It looks like I’ll be out of commission for a few days (long story, more to come in the coming months) so everyone play nice and knit away.

About redfear

Hard core rocker/old school punk/alternative, ridiculously fiber/design oriented knitter with strong geek tendencies type person. Worked in the travel and web design industries, and benefits management for years. Back in corporate travel and loving it! Mother of two fantastic young adults (yes, they truly are!).
This entry was posted in job search, knit and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Straightened out Hiring Process and Socks Rock

  1. niney says:

    Any word on the job front? My fingers are crossed for you.

Leave a Reply

