Huh?! Messed up hiring process and she’s grown up

The same company that sent me the ‘anonymous’ rejection email sent me another email Friday late afternoon advising me to do an online evaluation for the next step in the hiring process.  This one was from an actual person (front desk receptionist).  But… the link goes to a page that won’t load due to dangerous scripting.  I emailed her back with a copy of the error and requested clarification.   Basically, am I still being considered and wtf put very nicely.

I appreciate the supportive comments, knitters are the best!  I enjoy the comments, the hours I spend browsing blogs, ravelry, learning, admiring…  Thank you all!

Marci is nearly all packed and ready to move.  It’s hard to believe that she’s old enough to move to another state all on her own.  Isn’t she still my little girl who needs her hair brushed and watches Barney?  No.  She’s not.  She grew into an intelligent, strong willed young woman.  She now gives me makeup, hair and fashion tips rather than the other way around.  It’s going to be hard on my 16 year old to have his sister gone.  Although they have done the fairly typical transition from depending on each other to independence, they are still quite close.  She will be sorely missed on the day to day front but at least there are phones, emails, web conferencing/chat, etc.  It’s a bit easier now than it was back in the days of a letter once a week or so.  Still… I’m not quite ready for this.  And yet it is time. There are so many things that I still want to teach her – guidance, skills, bonding experiences.  Then again, it’s not like she won’t ever be around.

This evening we’re going over to Mom’s for a farewell dinner.  It should be fun even though my family is less than thrilled about this move.  Girls should stay with their family until they get married and start a family of their own.  Why aren’t I encouraging her to do that?  Fortunately, I raised children to think for themselves and choose situations that they feel are best for them.  How dare I?!!!  😀  Trust me, I dared.  A little too much, perhaps.

I spent a good part of the last three days knitting away and have made some real progress.  The Beverly cardigan really needs picking up again but Mom’s wrap is a higher priority just now.  Hate to say it, but can’t wait to finish it and get it blocked and gifted.  It’s turning out nicely and I want Mom to finally have it as it’s gone through several revisions and taken a very long time to get just right.

Oh, and one more thing….

Over the weekend I ran into an old friend and her new boyfriend.  It was so good to see her again, I haven’t been that great on keeping up with people since I moved back down to P.G.   It gave an opportunity to catch up, reflect on how we’ve grown as people and be happy that we’ve both moved on to ‘bigger and better’ things.  She knew me back when I was going through a rather hellacious time with my last husband and watched things deteriorate.  She was going through her own less than ideal situation and I’m thrilled that she’s made decisions which led to a far better situation.  Through that and a couple other experiences that evening, I’ve come to realize that I have indeed made much personal progress and I’m glad.  There is much to do yet, but progress is great!

About redfear

Hard core rocker/old school punk/alternative, ridiculously fiber/design oriented knitter with strong geek tendencies type person. Worked in the travel and web design industries, and benefits management for years. Back in corporate travel and loving it! Mother of two fantastic young adults (yes, they truly are!).
This entry was posted in family, job search, knit. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

