Knitting Frenzy and Denied

Nearly all of yesterday was knitting like a maniac.    Today is requiring a fair bit of Ibuprofen to keep the arms mobile at all.  Ouch!  I’m trying to finish up Marci’s Nippers in the next couple of weeks although there is virtually no chance of finishing before she moves.  That’s fine.  I’m going to work a couple more pairs for her and one for her b/f.  Perhaps semi-matching.  Not quite sure on that one yet.  I’m enjoying the pattern but don’t know that I’ll make another one using the same mods.  Definitely won’t do another pair in Risotta, the yarn is good but not the best for lace work on longer stockings.

His Navy are progressing well.  Shall I mention yet again that working with dark navy is a pain at night?  hehe  I think they’re working up pretty well though.  I’ve all ready started planning his next pair.  He needs more color in his sock wardrobe.  He doesn’t HAVE to wear colorful socks but at least he’ll have a pair or three.  Eventually.

Mom’s stole will – hopefully – be done by Mother’s Day.  The new order with the another hank came a couple of days ago and should be joining later today or possibly tomorrow.  The order also has two pair of circulars, I am GOING to start a pair using this method.  The next pair, in fact.

A few days ago, I went through most of my stash and realized that I don’t need to order more yarn for a very long time.  The problem is that KnitPicks has a slew of new Felici colorways in fingering and sport weight.  Pretty, pretty colorways.   Soft, soft, pretty, pretty. Uh oh.

The rationale here is that sport weight socks won’t take as long.  Then again, I’ve been thinking about Picnic for a cardi.

And there are several other companies that I want to try.  I love KP but they sure aren’t the only company out there.  There are a few skeins of silk blend in sport weight and merino in lace weight purchased at Three Wishes (LYS).   They have been in the stash for a while and are crying from neglect.  Oh, and some Lion Brand Homespun that I bought a few years back.  And, and and and and…. too much fun in store!

On the job front things are not going well.  I even received a totally generic rejection email yesterday – the opening was ‘Dear     :’  really?  Rejects don’t even rate a name?  It made me laugh.  And I don’t really feel that rejected.  I’m still getting everything ready for school and working on advancing some skills both personal and professional.  Still, I was denied.  And it’s okay.

About HollysDying

Hard core rocker/old school punk/alternative, ridiculously fiber/design oriented knitter with strong geek tendencies type person. Worked in the travel and web design industries, and benefits management for years; have done freelance writing and editing. Mother of two fantastic young adults (yes, they truly are!).
This entry was posted in job search, knit, knit socks, Knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Knitting Frenzy and Denied

  1. Jeanne says:

    Sounds like you have so many nice projects going – I hope you get the slippers done in time!

    Companies really have gotten very lazy and mean about the hiring process – I think a lot of them don’t respond at all now.

    Hope things turn for the better soon!

  2. redfear says:

    Thank you for the encouragement 😀

  3. niney says:

    Thank you for your nice comments. It’s nice to know someone was reading. I found you and friended you on ravelry (hope that’s ok) Your Mom’s stole is turning out gorgeous! I can’t wait to see what it looks like when it’s done.
    -niney

  4. Ellen says:

    Your WIP’s are gonna turn out beautifully. I really like the first sock pattern. I hope you find a great job soon – I know its hard waiting, but its one of those one day at a time situations, isn’t it? Take a deep breath and don’t let anyone steal your peace. Best wishes from a fellow knitter!

Leave a Reply

