Beverly cardi, techniques and huh?

The Knitter’s Book of Finishing Techniques is fast becoming one of my favouritest resources!  Why?  Several reasons: 1) as a self-taught knitter, I’ve learned techniques as I needed them or made them up.  This book has handy things all in one place.  2) The instructions and visuals are exceptionally clear; 3) She included pros’ and cons’ for each technique.  This helps tremendously in deciding which way to do something.  Two thumbs up Nancy Wiseman!

The Beverly Cardigan is coming along nicely, I’m at the increases for the front now.  Honestly, picking up the stitches for the sleeves and back was a lonnnng process for me.  I’m going to have to work on a better way to pick up from a provisional cast on, but… it looks okay!  Not 100000% fantastic, but not bad, either.  When this one is finished, I may do another one, we’ll see how it goes.  The lines are good, and I like having ‘not blazer/not cardigan’ looks.  (Yes, it is a cardigan but it’s not the traditional ‘v’ , shawl, or rounded neckline. The major reason is that I want a ‘perfect’ one and I’ve come to terms with this one is a really good practice piece.  It’s been quite a while since I did any sweater knitting so learning new techniques as well as remembering general things is great!

Marci’s Nippers were dormant for a little bit while I worked other projects but I’m back at them again.   Doing the three lace repeats is working out pretty well!  And… more importantly, she likes them 🙂  She’s extremely difficult to shop for and has a very distinct – and way cool – style all her own so I’m thrilled she’s excited about these.  WRT’s socks are still boring but I did a few more rows on them today.  The other day he wore the first pair that I knit him when he gave a presentation at work.  I was pretty excited about that.  They were in the sock drawer for quite a while, socks are meant to be worn!  If they wear out, you get another pair.  (Freshly off the needles, duh!)

So far, the only real responses I’ve been getting on resume postings and applications are for commissioned sales – mostly in the insurance area.  HUH?  In this economy?  Some people are great at that type of thing.  I’m just not.  So…the job search continues, I’ve had a couple more temp offers but my preference is to do a direct-hire this time.  Insurance and other benefits are just too high of a priority and some form of stability would be SO nice.  However… if I don’t have something within the next little while then temping it shall be.

Oh yeah.  With my tax return $ I got much needed new glasses.  I’m loving them!  They look good AND I can see!

About HollysDying

Hard core rocker/old school punk/alternative, ridiculously fiber/design oriented knitter with strong geek tendencies type person. Worked in the travel and web design industries, and benefits management for years; have done freelance writing and editing. Mother of two fantastic young adults (yes, they truly are!).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Beverly cardi, techniques and huh?

  1. tamlking says:

    The glasses look great!! Thanks for the link to the Beverly Cardigan…I have to get it! I swear I should own Knit Picks by now. Can’t wait to see photos of your cardigan!

Leave a Reply

