Socks, socks, job applications

The 15 job applications for the morning are complete.  I’m hardly even getting the standard ‘thanks for applying’ automated emails these days.  There must be too many applicants for some employers to have a generated response.  However, I’ve completed 15 applications daily and will continue to do so complete with follow ups, etc.  I hate filling out applications.  Then again, who doesn’t?

The 3+ hours of sock knitting per day is resulting in far more progress.  I’m working on the eye of partridge heel on the amazingly boring navy socks; the Nippers for Marci are proceeding well – going to have to order more yarn though since I’m making them longer than originally anticipated.

The lace is straight forward and a joy to work.   I’ll undoubtedly make another pair at some point.

AND… I finally found a toe up sock pattern that may eliminate the ‘mountain effect’ forever!  *happy dance, happy dance*  It’s called Fred and George by Rosemary Waits.  I’m in lust with how lostandlovely’s turned out.  Rather than do the stripes in the pattern, she chose Koigu Painter’s Palette. 

The Socks for Soldiers have been dormant for a while now.  I feel like an epic failure on that.  In all fairness, with the house being for sale a lot of things are packed – again – and they were accidentally boxed with some other projects.  I finally found them and am casting on again.  The pair I was working on absolutely did not have that perfect look and the tension was a bit off.  Again, I feel absolutely, painfully guilty for not holding up my end of this.  Having major blocks of time to devote to this worthwhile mission is one happy byproduct of the current jobless state.

Als0… I’m finding that bringing myself to work on Mom’s scarf/stole (Scarf for Ally on Ravelry) is nearly impossible.  The pattern is lovely, I enjoy it.  Whether I just don’t like the way the yarn/pattern combination is working up or whether it’s because I started it in Heidi’s ICU room before she passed, I’m not sure.  Perhaps it’s a bit of both.  So… decided last night to send it to the frog pond and start over with a different yarn.  I think a visit to Three Wishes is in order.  Their selection is perfect, plus they have several new classes, the nicest owner and staff possible and well… I need to do something outside the house hehe.

About redfear

Hard core rocker/old school punk/alternative, ridiculously fiber/design oriented knitter with strong geek tendencies type person. Worked in the travel and web design industries, and benefits management for years. Back in corporate travel and loving it! Mother of two fantastic young adults (yes, they truly are!).
This entry was posted in knit, knit socks, socks for soldiers and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Socks, socks, job applications

  1. Jeanne says:

    Very nice socks – and as far as the scarf – sometimes its the best thing to frog things that don’t make you happy!

    Good luck with the applciations – I hope something good happens fast!

Leave a Reply

