Rejoining the Unemployed

Friday evening I missed a call from my temp agency.  The message was urgent – call before returning to work.  Fairly short story even shorter, I’ve rejoined the jobless ranks.

How am I doing? Depends on what you’re asking.
Intellectually? I know that it is not a horrendous thing, I performed my job in a noteworthy way, had good rapport with coworkers, clients, management, etc.
Emotionally? It’s a bit on the devastating side, this is the second time in less than five months. Feeling a bit of the worthless, lesser being thing although making a very conscious effort to not wallow. I’m going to miss the daily contact with some very dear friends. I value working in fields that make a positive difference to my clients and co-workers.
Financially? Honestly, not that big of an impact for the next few weeks at least except for the NO INSURANCE thing. again. Maintenance meds? Hehe what are those?!

On the up side – if I want to keep temping it shouldn’t be difficult to find something within the next month or so. My kids need more mom time, we’re not going to have as many options for it in the coming years. There are mountains of things to knit. I would like to spend some time volunteering. My parents could use some family time right now.

About HollysDying

Hard core rocker/old school punk/alternative, ridiculously fiber/design oriented knitter with strong geek tendencies type person. Worked in the travel and web design industries, and benefits management for years; have done freelance writing and editing. Mother of two fantastic young adults (yes, they truly are!).
This entry was posted in job search and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Rejoining the Unemployed

  1. redfear says:

    Thank you all for the encouragement. It is greatly appreciated. *hugs*

  2. Jeanne says:

    I’m sorry to hear about this – but it sounds like you are working through it the right way and trying to stay positive. Good luck with what you decide to do!

  3. knitwonpurltoo says:

    I’m sorry to hear about the unemployment. I have lost another day, but still have a job. For now. Hang on.

Leave a Reply

