Sock Hell, Blood Pressure, Work… I need to get away!!!!

I’m working on a pair of toe up socks that I’ve reworked the toes three – yes, three! – times now.  I just didn’t like the way the pattern was working, didn’t like the toe itself which was my own fault for improvising and not getting the math correct, and now they seem to be sorted out.  At least the first toe.  Yeppers, I’m making the pattern up again.  It’s not that there aren’t brilliant patterns out there, it’s that I want this pair to be a specific way.  The heel will have to be borrowed from a written pattern though.

In better news – Marci’s socks are coming along quite nicely.  And… I may just cast on a pair for myself as well.  I need socks.  I need some slippers too.
Photobucket
Something beautiful inserted because I needed it 😀
On the work front things are still a bit up in the air.  Last night one of my fellow temps texted that one of us (there were four of us that came over after the lay-off) was let go yesterday.  The reasons were attendance and lack of call volume.  We’re a bit confused as her attendance was the same as the rest.  We’ve all had the nasty cold/flu thing so have missed an average of three days each over the last four months.  Lack of call volume?!?  We have three new clients on top of the ones all ready established and have had calls holding for weeks.  Bit unsettling!  And the search for permanent work continues.  I’ve had a couple of offers but none that could possibly pay the bills.

AND….  4B dropped my medical insurance.  Thanks, babe.  Maintenance meds are about $325 a month now and the doctor visits are canceled.  They wanted to run more tests – again – but not going to happen for quite a while now.  I did see a PA yesterday who charges $48 for the first visit and my blood pressure was frighteningly high.  Must be stress, never had a reading anywhere near that high before. (186/80 – I’m usually in the 80 -90/70’s range)  Oops!  I will be doing relaxation exercises and treadmill time.  yikes!  She was able to change one med which should help drop the pounds the former one put on.  Being on 3 meds that cause weight gain isn’t good!  Until about three months ago I was able to keep things under control but when another one was added – oops!  Twenty pounds ‘magically’ appeared.  Cutting that one should help!!!!

About redfear

Hard core rocker/old school punk/alternative, ridiculously fiber/design oriented knitter with strong geek tendencies type person. Worked in the travel and web design industries, and benefits management for years. Back in corporate travel and loving it! Mother of two fantastic young adults (yes, they truly are!).
This entry was posted in about RedFear, knit socks, Knitting, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Sock Hell, Blood Pressure, Work… I need to get away!!!!

  1. Jeanne says:

    Casting on new projects always makes me happpy – I hope that you found something that makes you a bit happier and more relaxed.

    Feel better!

  2. redfear says:

    thanks! and thanks for the advice… yes, I shall go back upstairs and cast on now!

  3. jewlbal3 says:

    Casting on socks for yourself always makes you feel better — good for you!

    And the purple flower pic — just stunning!

Leave a Reply

