Christmas socks ~ One nearly done

I frogged the heel cup and re-worked it, have no idea why but did a double decrease PER SIDE originally.  That would have been one tight heel!  It sat there for days while I dreaded unraveling so this morning… I sucked it up, took it out and re-did it.  As with most things, it was a bit less painful than anticipated and didn’t take all that long.  Now I’m deciding whether to carry the colorwork down the foot or do a solid green until the toe which will be red.  The only shoes that I can really wear them with are tennis shoes or another pair of flats so thinking it won’t really matter if the pattern continues. After all, even though I’m working on writing up the pattern, the majority of it is still in my head.

Thanksgiving at Mom’s went well; I only stayed a couple of hours as I don’t want to get anyone else sick.  The rest of the day was spent sleeping and reading.  Quiet day all in all.  A bit lonely, actually.

Yesterday was spent working.  Two clients’ open enrollment ended yesterday and there were the typical last minute phone calls.  I still don’t have access to one of the clients so had to keep making cases for someone else to input them.  I dislike making work for others, particularly when it’s something I’m more than capable of handling  but that’s how it is right now.

My co-worker Heather had her baby the week before last and Juan and Alicia had theirs.  I worked with Alicia at CVS/Caremark and now work with her hubby Juan at ADP.  I really enjoy my team; I just wish we had a clue if any of us (read ME) are going to get hired as regular employees.  I desperately need benefits and not having a ‘real’ job is nerve wracking sometimes.  No pay for sick time and no holiday pay is really messing with the old budget!  Oh well, it’s sure better than nothing and I’d like to avoid unemployment as long as possible now.

I sent 4B an email requesting payment on the money he took out of my account, cash advances that I had to repay for him, etc. I seriously doubt that I’ll ever see any of that $1500 or so.  But, at least I asked.  Reasonably nicely even!  Losing everything in the storage unit still kind of hurts sometimes.  Marci asked for the vanity set that I’d inherited from my grandmother.  I’d planned on giving it to her when she turned 18 last year but it’s gone so…. can’t do that.  I wish I could give my children half of what they deserve, they ask for so little.

About HollysDying

Hard core rocker/old school punk/alternative, ridiculously fiber/design oriented knitter with strong geek tendencies type person. Worked in the travel and web design industries, and benefits management for years; have done freelance writing and editing. Mother of two fantastic young adults (yes, they truly are!).
This entry was posted in knit, knit socks and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

