More Ramblings

More ramblings on roomates, life, and knitting
I made some great chicken noodle soup then spilled a huge bowl on myself at the office pot luck. (can you say unwitting Exorcist costume!)

knittoo_large
The Holly’s Red and Green Snowflake Socks are moving along; I received my Rowan book a couple of weeks ago, can’t wait to get started on some new projects; the sparkly Christmas stockings ! I bought three skeins of Heather’d Pink from KnitPicks and for the life of me can’t remember what I was going to do with it! I’m trying to finish the Holly Red and Green Snowflake Socks so the pattern can be posted. This time there will be a proper pattern, not just general guidelines. (Read – I want to remember how to make them again so will be very detailed. If you’d like to make some – please do!)

autumnleaves350

Seriously, perhaps the roomate should be on meds. Maybe he is, idk. Around 11:30 or so last night he was listening to 80s music VERY loudly (omg… 80s pop-lite?!??) and it was keeping my 18 year old up so…. she had her brother ask M*** to turn it down so she could get some sleep before early classes in the morning.  M*** turned it down, shut/slammed his door and muttered loudly ‘they always say shut up,’ ‘why should I have to shut up,’ etc. for at least 20 minutes whilst banging things around.   He frequently mutters loudly and bangs things around but until last night we never asked him to quiet down in any way.  He also pops in and out of his room constantly if I’m on the computer late at night, sits and stares at the microwave for up to 15 minutes at a time,  and a lot of other odd behaviors.  The kids and I are not at all comfy with him for several reasons but it doesn’t seem to bother ex-hubby/landlord.   Odd is okay, different is okay, eccentricity is encouraged. Creeping people out? Not so okay.

Mind, the kids and I stay in our designated areas upstairs most of the time (lol NO, there are not designated areas, we just like our own spaces) but sometimes we enjoy watching tv or using the computer downstairs.  I often look at the treadmill down there and think about using it… but that’s another story.  Will converted the laundry room into his bedroom so he and M*** have the downstairs with the exception of the common family room.

Anyway – not sure what, if anything, Will is going to do about the situation.  It’s not horrible, just not at all comfortable.  And I wasn’t kidding about the meds.  I have a suspicion what the deal is but it’s not really my place to say much unless directly confronted or the situation gets out of hand.

Generally, everything else is going fairly well.  I’m still pretty tense about only being a temp.  I need full benefits fairly soon and haven’t had much response to the resumes/phone calls.   On the plus side, the car is registered even though the rear ball bearings could go at any time and the windshield has a couple of cracks, it still passed.  Woot!  David made cookies last weekend, 2 dozen or so Reese’s Pieces and a dozen White Chocolate Macadamia Nut.  WRT received a tub of Chocolate Chunk cookie dough for his bday along with some cozy slippers and a new Janis Joplin Greatest Hits cd since the old one has scratches and it’s a MUST on road trips.

And now an update of an entirely different sort.  As I was getting ready for dress-up at the office last Friday I came across a check Heidi (deceased sister, see earlier posts) had given my daughter a week or so before she died.  Out of no where I started crying uncontrollably.  I’m learning a great deal about grief and ‘the process’ but sometimes the emotionality eclipses the intellectual in ways that surprise me.

About HollysDying

Hard core rocker/old school punk/alternative, ridiculously fiber/design oriented knitter with strong geek tendencies type person. Worked in the travel and web design industries, and benefits management for years; have done freelance writing and editing. Mother of two fantastic young adults (yes, they truly are!).
This entry was posted in knit, knit socks and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

