Modifications

The lay off is now complete, we went out with a bbq, volleyball tournament and party.  It’s strange to be home today, I’ve worked Saturdays all year with a few exceptions.  I have never worked with such a fantastic group of people and I shall miss them.  Fortunately, several will be coming over to the new job that I (hopefully) will  be starting on the 14th.

In other news….  Will has another renter moving in right now.  Living with the first ex husband has some rather unique challenges and adding an unknown to the mix could prove interesting.  Fortunately, Will and I get along reasonably well so long as we don’t have the emotionality of a relationship.  It works out best for the kids, Marci started UVU last week and David is a junior in H.S. now.  There’s all the typical parental taxi stuff, what’s for dinner and ‘I did the dishes last time’ things and few of the old issues.

Mom and two of my sisters have been moving things out of Heidi’s storage unit – it’s still hard to believe she’s gone.  I’d like to have the Heidi’s stole but not entirely sure if it’s appropriate to tell Mom right now.  She’s holding up reasonably well but with her own health issues (mastectomy a few months ago and double knee replacement surgery in two weeks) I don’t want to push her to deal with anything she’s not ready for.

Knitting has been a bit slow the last week or so but I’m plugging along on the socks for soldiers, frogged a pair of purple multi/metalic gloves that I’d started and deciding what to do with some of the hanks in the yarnstash.

I’ve been going through my knitting mags, the free patterns on ravelry and sorting through what I want to knit with what is within my skill set with not too much stretch at the moment.  My new job (hopefully – yes, that word again – I was made the tentative offer yesterday and waiting until they come back with the firm one) is business casual and after several years of wearing jeans I need to think about what articles I need to include in the new wardrobe.

There has also been some perusing of knitting articles including this outstanding on on modifications for up-sizing sweaters from Vogue Knitting.  Since I have a reasonably extensive sewing background I understand garment modification concepts but the translation from cutting fabric to creating the fabric isn’t always as clear as it should be.

Also, I’ve been going over the Kitchener directions by Margaret Radcliffe in the latest edition of Knit ‘N Style.  Not sure what it is, sometimes Kitchener has made perfect sense to me and others my fingers just don’t quite connect with the brain.  I’d strongly recommend picking up a copy from your LYS or online.

About redfear

Hard core rocker/old school punk/alternative, ridiculously fiber/design oriented knitter with strong geek tendencies type person. Worked in the travel and web design industries, and benefits management for years. Back in corporate travel and loving it! Mother of two fantastic young adults (yes, they truly are!).
This entry was posted in knit, Life and it's Stuff, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Modifications

  1. Earnhardt says:

    A little rationality lifts the quality of the debate here. Thanks for cogntibutirn!

Leave a Reply

