Frustrated with Ice

I went to pick up D yesterday afternoon from his dad’s. We left his dad’s around 3pm and didn’t get home until after 8 – it’s usually a 35-40 minute trip but the roads were HORRIBLE. I couldn’t drive on the highway, if I went over 35 mph the car was fishtailing all over the place so got off and went surface streets. We ended up going around the mountains the verrrrrrry long way at 25 – 30 mph the whole way.

So… instead of taking the tree down, knitting, cleaning, etc. as I’d planned for my day off… I drove. I only got in 15 minutes of socks for soldiers knitting and that was it. But, that’s better than nothing and keeps me sort of in line with my daily commitment. The Post Office was long closed by the time we got home so the finished leisure pair didn’t get sent off either. My hands and elbows hurt too much from fighting the slides for hours.

Fortunately, we only slid badly once – no damage and easily corrected. And, it was a great opportunity to teach my new driver how to drive on ice/snow and in the fog with nearly zero visibility. Fun stuff.

It’s supposed to snow more today, more tonight, more tomorrow.

About redfear

Hard core rocker/old school punk/alternative, ridiculously fiber/design oriented knitter with strong geek tendencies type person. Worked in the travel and web design industries, and benefits management for years. Back in corporate travel and loving it! Mother of two fantastic young adults (yes, they truly are!).
This entry was posted in Life and it's Stuff, socks for soldiers. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Frustrated with Ice

  1. Gildas says:

    I’m not quite sure how to say this; you made it extelmrey easy for me!

Leave a Reply

