Happy Christmas…accident and nearly finished!

Christmas

M (daughter) was rear ended yesterday at a stop light.  Fortunately, she only has a sore back.  Her boyfriend was in the car with her and doesn’t seem to be injured, that’s good.  My son left me a voicemail letting me know they’d been in an accident but it broke up in the middle of recording so I was a bit frantic for a few minutes there.  When I asked why he didn’t call the emergency line he said she wasn’t dead so it’s not an emergency.  Uhmmm…. ok, the logic of 15 year old males! geeeeez!

She was driving her dad’s car, stopped at a yellow light, and some guy wasn’t paying attention.  He slammed into the rear end since he wasn’t expecting her to stop – brake lights should have been a clue, dude!  How dare you hit my child!!!!!!

The bumper and back light have quite  a bit of damage, the dash cracked and the stereo popped forward.  I’m grateful that it wasn’t far worse.  Fortunately, her dad is pretty understanding when it comes to true accidents and realizes when you’re stopped and the person behind you doesn’t stop – it isn’t your fault.  She was pretty shaken up but seems to be handling it pretty well.

I was able to get off work shortly after and 4B arranged to get new rear tires put on the car so I could get down there.  The wondrous Grylion called while they were working on them – it sure was good to talk with him!  I’ve been riding around on metal showing baldies and there was no way one wouldn’t have blown driving 30 miles at highway speeds.  He was pretty concerned about her, too.  He can be a pretty decent guy sometimes.

D’s been at his dad’s for the holiday break and came back up with me last night.  I have missed him! We  spent a lovely couple of Christmas Eve hours at B’s.  He took me completely by surprise and gave D and I fantastic guy/girl matching leather jackets..  We’d picked out a heavy hoodie for D all ready, which D loved.  Then he excused himself, went upstairs and came down with D’s first real leather jacket.   He went overboard and I’m touched.  D is THRILLED and so am I!  By the way, he makes outstanding chili – wow!

It’s snowing hard right now and my new tire went flat last night.  The spare is flat too.  My jack doesn’t have a handle.  Had to call B and have him give us a ride the rest of the way home.  4B’s truck is in the shop and he spent Christmas Eve with a friend and a bottle of Cuervo so that wasn’t really an option.  (Joys of ex’s that live with ya……)  It’ll be fixed sometime though.

D (son) is up here and needs/wants to be at his dad’s this morning.  His dad feels it’s snowing too hard to come pick us up so we won’t be there for present opening and then run down to my mom’s.  (His dad often still comes to family things which is totally cool.) I couldn’t reach my sister last night to see if she could pick us up on her way down and she’s still not answering so guessing she’s all ready gone.   It’s only a 45 or so mile drive.  We’ll figure something out.

Other than that, it’s a beautiful Christmas morning! I’m working on the toe for B’s second sock (WRT socks) and finishing 4B’s 3×3 rib scarf.  Marci loved her stocking (the Felted Christmas Stocking).  I’ll figure out a way to get TJ those fingerless gloves 😀  It’s all good!

About redfear

Hard core rocker/old school punk/alternative, ridiculously fiber/design oriented knitter with strong geek tendencies type person. Worked in the travel and web design industries, and benefits management for years. Back in corporate travel and loving it! Mother of two fantastic young adults (yes, they truly are!).
This entry was posted in Knitting, Life and it's Stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Happy Christmas…accident and nearly finished!

  1. Grace says:

    I’m glad that your daughter is okay .. that’s scary!! Even as an adult getting whacked like that is scary!

    It sounds like you’re having quite the adventure!

    Merry Christmas to you and prayers for it all to work out

    hugs

    grace

Leave a Reply

