oops! Knitless day and homeschool

I didn’t knit at all yesterday unless one counts the 2:30 am – 4:30 am session caused by 4B’s waking me up yet again.  Guess it does count since it was within the 24 hour time frame that made up yesterday. I’m hoping to get most of the foot done on WRT sock one and one of son’s Allied Giants fingerless gloves done today.

This morning I started blog browsing and ravelry reading about 7am whilst waiting for son to wake up to start school work – we usually start school about 8:30.  I came across this EXTREMELY helpful yarn estimator from Elizabeth’s Fiber and Yarn store.

Our current focus is history and religion –  he chose three religions and we’re studying history in that context.  It’s interesting and puts things in a different perspective for him. Yes, we’re a little different from a lot of home schoolers but the discussions are very open and I’m amazed at how he processes things.  Why are we studying history with religion?  Good question!  There are several reasons, the primary being religion is a reflection of belief which is typically the motivating factor of behavior which results in action i.e. history.  Beliefs influence everything from architecture to clothing to migration/immigration to celebrations to food choices.

Being a parent and a teacher is the most challenging thing I’ve done.  The cliche’s are true – it’s a rewarding, surprising, growth experience, and I love it.  I’m grateful that he’s given me this opportunity.  Never in the history of ever (yet another “Hollyism”) did I envision myself homeschooling.  My parents homeschooled my younger siblings years before it became widely accepted; Dad even wrote the first doctoral dissertation on the subject.  I was all ready in university when they started (at the ripe old age of 16 – boy do I wish I knew now what I thought I knew then) so I sometimes helped tutor but wasn’t really that involved nor did I care to be.  They are religious fundamentalists, we aren’t.  (They = parental family unit; we = my family unit) Maybe one of these days I’ll blog about why we’re doing this and what changed my mind.

Question of the day – is driving part of home school?  uhmmmm….  okay, it is.  He got his learners’ permit last month and is getting comfortable with traffic but I’m not.  Er, comfortable with him driving in the heavy traffic around here that is.  He’s a sensible driver but it can take five minutes or more to turn left out of our apartment complex.

Today’s randomness is …. ta da…. the wondrous Grylion sent me some of these:

Get out of Hell Free Card

Get out of Hell Free Card

I absolutely love them!!!!  Let’s not go into how badly I may need one *grin*  If you’re in need as well – this is true has them.  Lots of them.

About HollysDying

Hard core rocker/old school punk/alternative, ridiculously fiber/design oriented knitter with strong geek tendencies type person. Worked in the travel and web design industries, and benefits management for years; have done freelance writing and editing. Mother of two fantastic young adults (yes, they truly are!).
This entry was posted in Life and it's Stuff and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to oops! Knitless day and homeschool

  1. redfear says:

    … that’s my job! … *grin*

  2. robin says:

    ……..that’s it, out me to everyone…….heheheheheh…….

  3. redfear says:

    …hehe… you KNOW you are!

  4. robin says:

    …..hmmmmmmmm……..this “wonderous grylion” sounds like a really warped individual……………..

Leave a Reply

