Continued idiocy and Vegas, baby!

For some reason my hands forgot how to knit properly right around midnight.  I have no idea what happened, I put the very nearly finished fingerless 2 down for a couple of hours, picked it back up and was knitting backwards.  Not backwards knitting mind you – I was throwing the yarn over rather than curling from under resulting in oddly half raised stitches.  I’d frog but… they are so nearly finished now after all ready being an idiot that I’m just not going to.  All that’s left is the top ribbing and finishing the thumb.  Roughly half an hour’s work.

And I’m oddly unmotivated.  I want to cast on the next pair.  I can’t (won’t) until this pair is finished.  Arghhhhh…. ok, ok…. another half hour of ravelry and blog browsing then it’s off to finalize the gift.

And… in other news…  I’m going to Las Vegas on Friday!!!!!!  It was a total surprise, and I’m entirely excited.  Six hours or so of knitting time driving down, another six or so driving back and a fun filled two days there with one of the best humans ever!!!!!!!!  lasvegas

I’m taking the socks for soldiers BSS, WRT socks, Grylion socks and probably the pair of fingerless gloves that I WILL cast on this afternoon.

Know what?!  I’m discovering that having a life is actually fun!

th_celticautumnleaves 4B and I switched rooms last night.  My bed is a queen.  Since his feet hang over the bottom of the double he thought he might sleep better fully ensconsed in bedness.  Ok, whatever.  I like my room though.

He requested that I take my knitting off the bed.  I’ve been known to cozy up and knit in bed.  He was alarmed at the number of printed patterns – I can never knit that many things.  Of course not!  But I can knit quite a few and many are inspiration pieces and/or have features I’d like to incorporate into other designs.  Accompanied by much eye rolling by both parties.
He was also a bit upset that all his underwear has disappeared.  uhmmm… I don’t wear your underwear… all I know is they go in the wash, in the dryer, come out and still exist.  D doesn’t wear ugly tighty whities.  How does one lose ALL their underwear?!  Seriously??  And do I even want to know?

Tomorrow is the traditional off to mom’s Thanksgiving Event.  The kids are going to meet me down there, I’m happy they’ve decided to go.  Their dad has to work, sounds a bit odd but it’s going to be different not having him there.  We’ve been divorced for over eight years now but he still comes to most major family gatherings and we’re all fine with that.  4B is most likely going to a friends’ – I’m glad.  Although he feels holidays, birthdays, etc. are ‘just another day’  I’d hate for him to be alone.

Considering this has without question, been the worst year of my life, I have much to be grateful for.  The lessons learned, the changes made, the dear friends, the opportunities presented, I am truly thankful and very humbled.

About HollysDying

Hard core rocker/old school punk/alternative, ridiculously fiber/design oriented knitter with strong geek tendencies type person. Worked in the travel and web design industries, and benefits management for years; have done freelance writing and editing. Mother of two fantastic young adults (yes, they truly are!).
This entry was posted in Life and it's Stuff and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Continued idiocy and Vegas, baby!

  1. redfear says:

    Thanks hun, it was maaarveluuuus

  2. Phyllis T. says:

    Have a great time in VEGAS BABY!!!

Leave a Reply

