Donate Life

I strongly encourage everyone to visit Domestic Diva’s blog.  If you have ever considered donating a kidney, or any other organ, if you have ever been curious about the process, or if you want more information – she has it.  Did you know it’s possible to donate even if you aren’t an exact match?  Did you know how many people are on waiting lists, long long long lists?  You can fill out the kidney donor questionnaire here.

For years I’ve had the organ donor tag on my drivers license.  I have no idea how/who might need anything I’m finished with but they are certainly welcome to whatever they need.  My general philosophy is, ‘if I don’t need it, give it to someone who does.’  I’ve tried to apply that to life as well.

This has been a topic of discussion numerous times.  4B (ex to be) is philosophically against organ donation.  I understand and respect his reasons.  I’ve promised him that I’ll take care of his last wishes even after divorce.  It’s unfair to expect anyone else to do so.  He has made arrangements to be cremated and I have access to the paperwork necessary.

If I don’t need ______ why am I holding on to it?  Sometimes I hold on to an item because I simply like it.  Sometimes because I may need it later.  Sometimes because I’m too lazy to do anything with it.  Not a great reason.

On a lighter note – last night 4B woke me up about 1:30 am to drunkenly whine that there was only one Reece’s Peanut Butter Cup left.  Had he been a three year old child I would have most likely given a swift swat (figuratively) and sent back to bed.  As he is a 54 year old man, I was p*ssed.  Then he started going in on how he’s dying.  End stage emphesyma aggravated by severe alcohol abuse and a 3 pack a day smoking habit.  I informed him as nicely as a sleep deprived human is capable of that if he doesn’t shush he will not only not be cremated, he will be buried in my family’s plot.  Empty threat?  Yep. Petty?  Yep.  At least I got back to sleep by 3:30 or so.

And…. ta da… I got my job back – full time, not three quarters. GO ME!

About redfear

Hard core rocker/old school punk/alternative, ridiculously fiber/design oriented knitter with strong geek tendencies type person. Worked in the travel and web design industries, and benefits management for years. Back in corporate travel and loving it! Mother of two fantastic young adults (yes, they truly are!).
This entry was posted in Life and it's Stuff and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Donate Life

  1. redfear says:

    Unfortunately, you’re right. Restraint? uh yeah, that’s what we’ll call it…

  2. essiewb says:

    4B’s chosen mode of death appears to be suicide. You are using a lot of restraint. You know you don’t have to hurt your nails when you own knitting needles.

  3. redfear says:

    Thanks for your comment – I’m not patient, just don’t want to break a nail… hehe 😀

  4. kissmyknits says:

    Thanks for stopping by my blog and commenting! I’m glad you did – I’m adding your blog to my bloglines roll call. 🙂

    My husband doesn’t want to donate his organs either and also wants to be cremated. He also has very valid, very personal reasons for this that I respect and will see to fruition should he be the first to go.

    I can’t believe you didn’t get physically violent when you got woken up at 1:30am by a drunk guy whining about Reeses. 🙂 You are so patient.

    I’ve thought about my second kidney. Granted, after watching that Gray’s Anatomy epi about the domino surgery, but still, it made me think. I hate hospitals and I hate needles. I also hate surgery – go figure. But still.

Leave a Reply

