Joy of not knowing what you’re doing; Wrath of the Lich King

I have a bad/good habit of just jumping into things after learning basics.  Last year I made a wrapped or tie shrug without a pattern and only a few notes as I went along for guides.  I knew I wanted a bell type sleeve, something that could be tied or wrapped then pinned, and soft.  From my sewing background I have a general idea of garment construction, sizing, set in sleeves, etc. but quickly found that these principles translate well to knitting IF you know what you’re doing or can fake it well.

overall viewoverall view  deep rounded V neck, set in bell sleeves, side wrap or front tie

yarn detailyarn detail

sleevesleeve

The yarn is actually a very soft baby blue, not a weird off white.  (Light/cam problems) Bell sleeves were successfully set in, one was a little tighter than the other due to a misinterpretation of my own notes.  Other than that, it worked out pretty well.

Since this was finished (a little over a year ago) I’ve become pretty fixated on knitting from patterns.  Why?  Because I figured it would be a good idea to learn more from experienced knitters and some sort of odd fear of doing something ‘wrong’   The other night, I was browsing through some knitting and garment construction books and realized that there IS no wrong, just things that work well and those that don’t.  Ok, so sometimes it’s wrong – I mis read a stitch pattern, miscount rows, forget where I am and forgot to mark when I put a project down… but…. most things are fixable.

It’s a bit like life, sometimes I have to frog, go back, start again, take some time to figure out where you are and where you want to be.  Some things appear far more difficult than they are.  Some things are above my skill level but with some work, can be learned.  I have definite preferences (dislike purling, dislike pickled beets).  A few things are definitely ‘later’ projects but if I don’t try – how will I know?  And there’s always the joys of serendipity factor.

Confession time – yep, again – I took 4B’s wedding ring and am now wearing it as a reminder not to make stupid mistakes and that I CAN.  Figured it didn’t mean much to him and I needed the symbolic representation of my resolve not to re-make mistakes I’ve all ready made.  I can break co-dependent patterns, disengage, concentrate on me and mine, move on and take myself back while being loving, caring, responsible, creative, etc.  I can continue to be a good parent for my son and rebuild the relationship with my daughter.

‘And now for something different.’  World of Warcraft’s new expantion is released tonight.  I STILL don’t have a level 70 but my son has a few.  I’ve been knitting.  He’s been playing WOW.  I can’t knit while playing although some can.  Tonight we’re going to Game Stop to pick up his pre-reserved game, color him happy!!!!!  I’m a bit jealous but am happily plodding along with Christmas projects, Socks for Soldiers, and started on a lace scarf for myself.  (Had too, was informed that I was supposed to be doing something for me… oh.. yeah, I can do that!)

About redfear

Hard core rocker/old school punk/alternative, ridiculously fiber/design oriented knitter with strong geek tendencies type person. Worked in the travel and web design industries, and benefits management for years. Back in corporate travel and loving it! Mother of two fantastic young adults (yes, they truly are!).
This entry was posted in Knitting and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

