Back, Socks for Soldiers, Christmas socks, more socks, and pillows too

Last Wednesday the silliest thing happened… I was walking in the parking lot outside our apartment and just fell.  As in ‘fall down forcefully for no apparent reason.’  Bruised my knee, elbow, wrenched my back rather badly and had no idea why!!!  After I’d managed to catch my breath and stand up, there it was – a rock about as big around as a silver dollar and as thick as a tube of lipstick.  Geeeeeez!

I had to call in sick as I couldn’t get my back in an upright position so spent the evening with my son going over school work, and alternating ice, heat, positions, anything I could think of to get the back and knee to quit their throbbing.  By the next morning the knee pain wasn’t so bad, the elbow and wrist still felt like someone whacked them pretty good… but the back….  still felt like screaming made up profanities instead of the ones we use for regular old every day things.

Long story short, as they say, went to the local urgent care, was told I’d messed it up (ya think?!) and to give it a few days to heal.  Since I had a rather nasty back injury (from playing with aforementioned son when he was a toddler),  I took the PA’s advice and kept reasonably still, did the heat pad thing, took muscle relaxers and anti inflamatories (arthritis in the back too dontcha know), etc etc etc.  Come Monday, wasn’t feeling too bad so went in to work with my required Dr’s note…. had to run home quickly to change (ok, ok, so I didn’t actually run), started putting my panty hose on… did that little hip wiggle thing anyone who has pulled pantyhose up to their waist is familiar with, and OMG… did someone shove iron rods through my spinal column?!  How rude!!!!!!

So… now I am again among the masses of unemployed as of this morning.  At least for a little while.

Last night I tore out all but 4″ of the socks for soldiers that I’d done – it just didn’t look right at all.  Then started over, have about 4″ done.  Go me!  Perhaps I’m a bit overly picky on those socks but I truly want them to be just right for the hard working soldier that will wear them in the line of duty. 

Socks for Soldiers

Socks for Soldiers

I’ve also got about 3/4 of one of my own socks for Christmas finished.  It’s a personal pattern that resides exclusively in my head.   I’m using Knit Picks Palette – red and green (not exact names).  If it turns out all right, I’ll post it here 😀  It’s loosely based on ‘Blackhearted’ but with some heavy duty somewhat free style mods. 

The child socks are finished and gifted – only a week after the 3rd birthday of the recipient.  Now she wants a knit purple crown.  I’m going to have to figure that one out!

And… just for something to do (hehehe) broke down and bought some more sz 9 needles so I can start on Christmas throw pillows.  Not difficult at all, just going to do a bit of color work on one – thinking brown arrowheads on a blue background for one out of Knit Pics Gloss from the yarn stash, Celtic like cable work on the other from yarn I picked up quite a while ago.  Again, patterns in my own head – if they work out tolerably well, I’ll post those here too.

About HollysDying

Hard core rocker/old school punk/alternative, ridiculously fiber/design oriented knitter with strong geek tendencies type person. Worked in the travel and web design industries, and benefits management for years; have done freelance writing and editing. Mother of two fantastic young adults (yes, they truly are!).
This entry was posted in Knitting, Life and it's Stuff and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Back, Socks for Soldiers, Christmas socks, more socks, and pillows too

  1. Zariel says:

    Full of salient points. Don’t stop beivlieng or writing!

Leave a Reply

