OUCH!

I burned a rather large area using Avon’s sensitive skin hair remover.  Sensitive skin my rear end!  The product instructions say average use time is 2.5 minutes, don’t leave on longer than 8 minutes.  It stung just a little when I applied it but after about 45 seconds I was close to screaming in pain.  A long, cool shower resulted in taking off a lot of hair and some skin, omg ouch!!!!!!

I called the nurse hotline to see if I truly needed medical attention or if it was prudent to take care of it myself (and letting the nurse know that I’m allergic to sulfa drugs) we decided to hold off on going in to urgent care for now.  Silvadine is the normal medical treatment and it’s a topical sulfa.  Just didn’t think breaking out in hives would help the situation.

After doing some research online I sterilized some honey and applied that, guess what – it helps!  Along with some Tramadol.

The bad thing (as if there’s a good thing about burning several inches of skin) is that it happened on my lunch break so had to finish out the day in a fair amount of pain.  Finally, I just closed the blinds and stripped down so nothing was touching the burn, took a pain killer, applied some honey and put on my best smiley voice for the clients.  Thank goodness I’m working at home these days!!!

In knitting news:

Have 4 pairs of socks on the needles, another one of Mom’s dishcloths, a shawl and reallllly want to cast on for my http://crafty.com Perfect Fit Seamless Crazy Lace Cardigan.  Self control truly sucks sometimes!

 Most of the projects are in the photo but not the shawl.  I’m probably going to frog it anyway though and start on one of my other Craftsy classes shawl, Jasmine, from Sweetheart Shawls.  It’s a bit more my style than the one I started so figure that if I’m going to put that amount of effort into something, it should be something I truly like.

About redfear

Hard core rocker/old school punk/alternative, ridiculously fiber/design oriented knitter with strong geek tendencies type person. Worked in the travel and web design industries, and benefits management for years. Back in corporate travel and loving it! Mother of two fantastic young adults (yes, they truly are!).
This entry was posted in knit, knit socks, Knitting, Life and it's Stuff and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

