Nearly a month later….has anyone seen Mr. Sandman?

It’s been close to a month since we closed out the Salt Lake office and I started working at home.  Overall, it’s been okay other than I can’t sleep.  By can’t, I mean that I average 3 hours a night, sometimes a little less.  If things go extremely well, I’ll get eight or nine hours once or twice a week.  The insomnia thing has never been like this without a readily discernible cause.  Life is fine right now, not perfect, but definitely okay.  At first, I thought it was trying to shut down work as my work space is readily visible from everywhere in my apartment except my bed/bath.  I’ve decorated the space to fit in with the rest of the apartment and I’ve learned to control the urge to check ‘one’ more thing at 3am.  That’s not the major cause of the problem.  Oh, despite promises of no paycuts, headquarters DID cut my pay $9000 a year.  Thanks guys.

Then I figured it could be a change in meds.  So, started taking them in the morning.  No difference. Reading helps a bit, meditation helps clear the mind but isn’t bringing the sandman.  I’m going to try adding melatonin later this week and see if that works.

I’ve taken an inventory of the current stressers – one is an important (to me) ongoing thing that really has no resolution so am dealing with it.  And, it’s not that bad.  Or is it?  There are a few random odds and ends that are annoying but not major issues.  Who knows?!?

Anyway, sleep would be great.  I’m functional but not exactly stellar just now.

In conjunction with this lack of brain wave down time, I’ve decided to tie up a few loose ends.  It’s been quite some time since I’ve worked on Socks for Soldiers.  After trying numerous times to make that perfect pair of socks, I realized that I just wasn’t up to par yet. I’ve been working on the skill sets involved and will try a couple more pairs of ‘regular’ socks then should be ready to tackle this wonderful project again.  Nearly all of the socks that I’ve done lately are magic loop toe up so I’ll be working on top down with gussets and on gauge.  I still have some of the approved yarn so the plan is to make a trial pair concentrating on gauge, technique, and overall awesomeness then move on to the real pair.

In the past few weeks I finished Spring Fling:

Started and finished Purple Haze:

This is another one of Wendy Johnson’s fabulous designs – Double Eyelet Rib Toe Up Socks.

and have a good start on Birches for Bill:

The weird looking indrawn areas on either side are actually 3 pearl stitches which will run up the foot to meet 3×3 ribbing further up.  Birches for Bill and Summer Fling are based on Wendy Johnson’s Toe-Up With a Difference.

About redfear

Hard core rocker/old school punk/alternative, ridiculously fiber/design oriented knitter with strong geek tendencies type person. Worked in the travel and web design industries, and benefits management for years. Back in corporate travel and loving it! Mother of two fantastic young adults (yes, they truly are!).
This entry was posted in about RedFear, knit socks, Knitting and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

