2012

We went to EVE downtown (Salt Lake City) last night and had a lovely time!  It was wonderful seeing so many families out together enjoying the music and festivities!

The kids were both home for the holidays; wow I’ve missed them!!!  My daughter turned 21 yesterday – so hard to comprehend that she’s an adult all ready!  When she was about two and I was pregnant with David, a very dear friend told me to cherish the moments and don’t wish the time away.  I had no idea how visionary her advise was until recently.  It’s such a cliche but it truly does seem just like yesterday that she was dancing around the front room in dress up clothes and David was taking apart his toys on the floor.

Now Marci (she goes by Anne now, short for Ian, her first name) is a very beautiful young woman, David is engaged to a delightful girl and well… I’m still me:

my family

David and Shelby

The work scene has been interesting lately.  Our manager won’t be returning after 12 weeks of time off recovering from two open heart surgeries and there is a possibility that I may be promoted from Lead Agent to Branch Manager.  We’ll see how that goes.  There will be plenty of responsibility and opportunity in the upcoming year either way.

And in knitting news…….  I managed to finish the last gifting project on Christmas Eve, whewww it was close!  Unfortunately, that’s not entirely accurate.  I finished all of the projects but one; I can’t find Marci’s waterfall socks.  There are still about six boxes to unpack and I just haven’t been able to come up with them yet.  I’m terribly disappointed and feel awful but she was understanding.  I’m still looking – one sock is finished and the other is about 90% there.  :(

After a nice visit with Mom, Dad, and Will (kids’ dad) I cast on another pair of socks Christmas evening.  They’re quite cute so far in Chrystal Palace’s Superwash using Tuscany by Melissa Morgan-Oakes.  Thanks for all the reviews on Ravelry, I’ve started them on sz 1 needles but will be going up to 3’s for the leg portion.  It’s a fairly drastic enlargement but I want them to fit with a little ‘give’ in the legs.  I suspect that they will be a little slouchy but I’m good with that.

About redfear

Hard core rocker/old school punk/alternative, ridiculously fiber/design oriented knitter with strong geek tendencies type person. Worked in the travel and web design industries, and benefits management for years. Back in corporate travel and loving it! Mother of two fantastic young adults (yes, they truly are!).
This entry was posted in family, knit, knit socks, Knitting, Life and it's Stuff and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

