Stitching away, packing away, just away away

The garden turned out fairly well this year despite the very late snows and even later frosts.  We’ve harvested at least 40 cucumbers and there are more on the vine, 30 or more zucchini (keep giving them away so not sure), quite a few tomatoes for how late they were planted and…. ta da!  a giant pumpkin! It’s not exactly Charlie Brown Giant Pumpkin big but not bad at all!  Along with some rather mammoth zucchinis and a couple more typically sized pumpkins.  There are more on the vine but with the house being sold I don’t think we’ll harvest much more.

The move is still in progress and still trying to get the details sorted out.  Landlord is spending a lot of time in Wendover, NV lately (he’s a poker player) so have no idea if he’s found a place yet.  He mentioned hiring someone to haul away the old beds, and a few other things that really aren’t even suitable to donate to charity.  It would be so cool to know if he’s done that and if so, when they will be here!  Ah, the mysteries!!!  hehe   nah, it’ll all work out, just still trying to get the details in place.

Which reminds me, yes, I do have a place! And it’s the one that I wanted with the little stackable washer and dryer!!!  Why is having a washer/dryer in the apartment such a big freakin’ deal you ask?!?  I do laundry at odd hours; I like to felt sometimes (purposely shrink knit items in the dryer); I have a weird ‘thing’ about apartment complex laundry rooms after having nearly all my unmentionables stolen out of one in Texas over a few week time frame.  Whoever wanted my pretty lacies must have watched because I usually started the wash, stayed in the laundry room til things were ready for the dryer then go back to my apartment in the next building for a few minutes.  Just a bit of oddity.  I’m not ‘scared’ of laundry rooms mind you, just dislike them.

The monster commute, packing, blah blah blah has limited the knit time however… again with the ta da!  I have finished a few things and am soooo nearly done with a few more.  I fight the urge to cast on a totally non-gifting piece of self indulgent knitting constantly and so far, I’ve won!  Wait, if I haven’t cast anything on for me, am I the winner?!?  I think not!

Gratuitous pics of some of the recently finished objects:

 

 



They all need blocking but the knitting and weaving ends in is all done!

About redfear

Hard core rocker/old school punk/alternative, ridiculously fiber/design oriented knitter with strong geek tendencies type person. Worked in the travel and web design industries, and benefits management for years. Back in corporate travel and loving it! Mother of two fantastic young adults (yes, they truly are!).
This entry was posted in knit, Life and it's Stuff and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

