Fears, Fixes and Forward

It looks like I may have found a place – I sure hope so!  The location is great, a little further from the office than I’d like but other than that very close to groceries, craft stores, WallyWorld, etc.  I’m really looking forward to living closer to friends again, living an hour away from everyone takes a lot of planning and we’re all more spur of the moment types.

We have to be out on the 15th of next month but if I get the apartment that I want, it’s not available until the 18th.  How does one do that?!? move everything twice??!!??  pretty much!  WRT suggested that I rent a POD, load it up then have it delivered after the move-in date.  I think that’s going to be the best solution.  The only other one I can think of is to rent a U-Haul for several days but then there’s the how do I get it unloaded in the middle of the week?  Not going to happen.  By the time anyone/everyone who can help is off work it’s dark and we definitely need daylight to do all this AND renting a truck for that long will cost the same as renting a POD and they’ll deliver it where/when I need it.  I’m a whole lot less freaked out about things.  Yeah, a bit silly to get freaked out over moving but it’s a pretty big move, all my friends live at least 35 miles away and the kids are in school in Seattle.  This 40+ woman can’t move it all by herself, that’s for sure!

I’ve also been dealing with the ‘what now’ stuff that comes with being a single empty nester.  It’s not at all how I’d envisioned life but overall, it’s not bad.  Just very strange.  Very, very strange.  As I don’t really feel like ‘talking about it’ at the moment though, I won’t! So there, nanner nanner.  yeah, feeling extremely mature today.

Knitting progress is a bit slower than I’d hoped but am still getting a fair bit accomplished.  Three holiday presents are finished and I’ve got three more that are only a few hours each away from the finishing line.  I’ve been fighting the urge to cast on new projects as moments of common sense strike but that ‘finish what you’ve got going’ voice is growing fainter so I may just cast on another present this week.  Wendy D. Johnson’s new book, Wendy Knits Lace is staring at me in the most irresistible manner.

As everything I’ve been working on is a gift, I can’t post pics just yet but will do fairly soon.  Very few of the recipients of this years crazy holiday knitarama countdown are blog readers.  That can be a blessing!

About redfear

Hard core rocker/old school punk/alternative, ridiculously fiber/design oriented knitter with strong geek tendencies type person. Worked in the travel and web design industries, and benefits management for years. Back in corporate travel and loving it! Mother of two fantastic young adults (yes, they truly are!).
This entry was posted in knit, Life and it's Stuff and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

