Happy Yule, Merry Christmas, Happy Holidays!!!

It’s way too early to be awake yet I am – it’s Christmas morning!  The little ones are now taller than I am so there isn’t the early morning present opening, of course.  In fact, I’m waking up 17 year old son in a couple of hours so we can go down to Mom and Dad’s for Christmas Breakfast.   I’m truly hoping that the dishcloths are indeed, what Mom really wants – she did ask for them specifically though so…  we’ll see! 
ribby


Sunbonnet Sue

Nubby

lacy

… plus a couple additional plain/functional cloths

It feels a bit odd to wake up my youngest on Christmas morning but he knows there’s no pile of long anticipated toys awaiting him and he was up late last night with friends.  The 19 year old – 20 in six days – is an hour behind so undoubtedly, she is still sleeping soundly.  WRT’s step son’s ex is taking the grand daughters to WRTs ex’s today so no grandkids – that’s okay though.  There will be nieces and nephews all over the place at Mom and Dad’s.  Later, I’ll be taking a friend to the airport to catch a flight to California then time with WRT.  Not a bad plan at all!!!

After working pretty much all of yesterday (ok, ok, I got out 20 minutes early but only had one client all day long) I drove home, made gingerbread cake and basked in the memories the aromas brought.  Earlier, at work, I’d cast on a new sock about three times.  Each time I would get about 3 inches into it and decide that it just wasn’t quite right so ripped back and finally decided the yarn wants to be a beanie for WRTs grand daughters.  Not holiday presents, ‘just because’ knitting.  They’ll be cute, pics to come later.

Speaking of WRT, he seemed to enjoy his latest socks.  I was a bit disappointed at how short the leg is but that’s as much as I could get out of the Knit Picks Stroll in Sport.  If I use it again, there will definitely be an extra skein involved.  Since he loves being in the mountains but hasn’t spent much time up there lately, I gave him a silver colored Zippo with a bald eagle and mountain scene on the front along with the appropriate butane and flints.  Not trying to encourage the smoking thing but since it happens anyway, I figured he should have a piece of his beloved mountains with him.

Wendy’s Sport Weight Toe-up Sock pattern has become one of my favorites.  In fact, I’m really liking her patterns generally.  They tend to be quite well thought out, modifications are a matter of common sense (after one has knit a few socks – it took me a bit to figure things out hehe) and pretty fun!  For non sport weight, I’ve enjoyed some of her other patterns and am seriously considering doing several more over the next few months.

He surprised me with a new Singer Sewing Machine!!!  I’m positively pink with joy!!!!  It’s the Singer 2263 -  somewhat basic but exactly what I actually need.  He must really pay attention when I’m talking about what I like!  He even made sure it does buttonholes well. I don’t do ‘fancy’ work anymore – it’s been 14 years since Marci thought ridiculously full ruffles with crinoline underneath, pintucks, and yard upon yard of lace was pretty.  I absolutely can’t wait to get some projects going.  I’ve been itching to make a few quilts/bedspreads as well as some work clothes that fit properly.  The waist is STILL 2 sizes smaller than the hips so anything store bought really should be altered which hasn’t happened for quite a while.  And… I enjoy reworking blouses and/or modifying patterns as the mood strikes.  He also put yet another new strut in the freaking car last weekend.  What a wonderful man!!!!!

About redfear

Hard core rocker/old school punk/alternative, ridiculously fiber/design oriented knitter with strong geek tendencies type person. Worked in the travel and web design industries, and benefits management for years. Back in corporate travel and loving it! Mother of two fantastic young adults (yes, they truly are!).
This entry was posted in family, knit socks and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

