Interviews and sock thoughts, Three Wishes Fiber Arts

I had an interview with a major call center company on a travel job!  ohhh how I would love to be back in travel.  A field where I know what I’m doing even if it is constantly changing.  The second interview is this afternoon.  Doing happy dance with a slightly scared face.   The pay is good, much better than I’ve been making the last few years.  The downside is that because I’d be a contracted employee to the verrrry large travel agency, I don’t get an IATA n card (it’s the recognized, ‘yes, I am a real travel agent not some fly by night scammer’ card).  For now, that would be okay.   Why am I a little scared?  Glad you asked (you’re always so accommodating, asking the right questions!)  Because I feel like crap (literally, having a bit of an upset stomach today) and although I am extremely qualified for the position, there is a slight possibility that they won’t hire me.  Then again, positive thoughts and energy!!!!!!!!

There is also a phone interview set up for tomorrow back in insurance customer support.  Another field that I truly enjoyed.

Remember the never ending sock of doom?  His Navy?  The one that took freaking forever to get one down and then it was a bit too large?  yeah.  that one.  Well… it turns out that although navy socks have been requested several times, it turns out that he REALLY wants black ones.  No wonder that pair just never worked right.  Perhaps the cosmic universe of yarn was telling me that I can do what I want but those socks just aren’t happening.  Now I can re-purpose that yarn for something else.  wheww.  Somehow that actually feels like relief rather than the ‘omg, I can’t believe I knit a whole sock that turned out too big and is just blah.’

After my interview yesterday, I had several hours to kill before another commitment so… stopped by Three Wishes Fiber Arts.  They have such a lovely selection, reasonable prices and it was fun to talk with a lady who was working on a bag in the round.

I’ve carefully planned my fiber budget and was extremely tempted to abandon it completely… Noro was whispering in my ear, then gorgeous Nashua, and yummy Manos del Uruguay.  It went on and on and on until I finally grabbed two skeins of Berroco Superwash in worsted, drooled over the antique loom being put together right in the front there, paid and walked out with only very minor damage to the budget.   It’s a luscious green/blue – dark teal even – called Tide Pool.  It wants to be a warm, snuggly scarf.  A bit more green than in the pic but you get the idea.

About redfear

Hard core rocker/old school punk/alternative, ridiculously fiber/design oriented knitter with strong geek tendencies type person. Worked in the travel and web design industries, and benefits management for years. Back in corporate travel and loving it! Mother of two fantastic young adults (yes, they truly are!).
This entry was posted in job search, knit, knit socks, Knitting and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Interviews and sock thoughts, Three Wishes Fiber Arts

  1. marylove says:

    i hope everything turns out the way you want it to with the interviews! good luck!

  2. Linda Cannon says:

    Yay, interviews. Great, Good luck and good thoughts.

Leave a Reply

