What a day!

This morning I had the shortest job interview ever… Finally!  A job offer!  It’s another long-term temporary but the pay is half decent and it will work while I’m in school and looking for another ‘real’ job.  And… there’s a possibility of it going permanent within the same company so… definitely progress.  The down sides are no benefits and it doesn’t start until May but hey, once again… definitely progress.

Being unemployed has been a drain emotionally just as much as it has been financially.  Nearly every day has been a struggle.  I miss my friends, I miss interaction with others, I miss the occasional pat on the back and the chance to work through situations to find the best possible resolution.  It has been a constant battle to make myself do things, even things that I enjoy.  Most of the time, I win the battle but not always.  Then again, I know the value of allowing a ‘wallow’ day here and there.  Not allowed to consume me though.  no way, no how!

My 16 year old’s drivers license FINALLY came yesterday.  Numerous phone calls to the DMV over the last five months has been annoying, frustrating and plain old fashioned non-productive.  Uh… okay, whatever… at least he has the ‘real’ license now. So… he’s taking his GED on Tuesday then we’ll be working on his school and job applications.  This is good!

Tomorrow should be interesting, have more legal things to work through.  I’m grateful for the support of my closest friend and my family.  The judge will undoubtedly not be happy as I appealed her last proclamation due to a judicial error on her part.  Enough on that though.

In knitting news:  Beverly is coming along, Mom’s stole has lengthened, Marci’s Nippers are in the heel turn stage and WRTs boring socks are still… well, boring  :D  I soooooo want to cast on a spring shawl but will wait until next week after a little bit more progress has been made with the current works in progress.  Knit Picks put up a vid on ways to wear shawls/stoles and I luv luv luv it.

About redfear

Hard core rocker/old school punk/alternative, ridiculously fiber/design oriented knitter with strong geek tendencies type person. Worked in the travel and web design industries, and benefits management for years. Back in corporate travel and loving it! Mother of two fantastic young adults (yes, they truly are!).
This entry was posted in job search, Knitting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to What a day!

  1. Jeanne says:

    Congrats on the job offer – I am so glad for you! May will be here sooner than you know, and you will be back in the rat race again!

    Thanks for the video link – very interesting!

  2. redfear says:

    Hi Jacqueline! http://knitpicks.com has most of those designs available. Some are free, some have a nominal charge.

  3. Wow some gorgeous shawls you have on this nicely done video. Love the way you both have showed us how there are so many nice ways to wear them too. Do you have any of the patterns available for me to download?
    Jacqueline

Leave a Reply

